Bulletin of Dental Education

Transitions, Appointments and Awards - February 2014

(Awards, Transitions) Permanent link   All Posts

GRU names Dr. Carol A. Lefebvre Dean of College of Dental Medicine

Carol LefebvreCarol A. Lefebvre, D.D.S., M.S., Interim Dean of the Georgia Regents University College of Dental Medicine (GRU CDM), has been named Dean.
Dr. Lefebvre, a faculty member for 25 years and Interim Dean since July 2013, assumed the role February 1, 2014. Former Dean Connie Drisko, D.D.S., stepped down in June 2013 after a decade as Dean of GRU CDM.
“I am delighted to welcome Dr. Lefebvre as the fourth Dean of the College of Dental Medicine. Dr. Lefebvre brings an impressive combination of leadership experience and a deep understanding of the opportunities and challenges facing dentistry and dental education,” says Gretchen Caughman, Ph.D., GRU Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost. “She was excellent in the role of interim dean, and I look forward to continuing to work together to advance the mission of the College of Dental Medicine and of GRU.”
As Dean of Georgia’s only dental college, Dr. Lefebvre will oversee the dental education and training for nearly 300 students and 60 residents and will lead the college in the development and support of education, research and clinical programs. In her career at GRU, she has been actively involved in advances in the delivery of dental care, securing agreements with industry partners to enhance clinical care and research. 
A Professor of Oral Rehabilitation and Oral Biology, Dr. Lefebvre has previously served the GRU CDM as Vice Dean and Associate Dean for Strategic Initiatives and Faculty Affairs. She also served as Editor-in-Chief for The Journal of Prosthetic Dentistry, one of the nation’s leading dental journals, for nine years after serving four years as Associate Editor. In 2013, she was selected to serve on the Executive Council of the Academy of Prosthodontics. 
Dr. Lefebvre is a recipient of GRU CDM’s Excellence in Teaching and Outstanding Faculty Member Awards. She is a Diplomate of the American Board of Prosthodontics; a Fellow of the Academy of Prosthodontics, American College of Prosthodontists, Pierre Fauchard Academy; and a member of Omicron Kappa Upsilon, Phi Kappa Phi, and the Hinman Dental Society. In 2005–06, she was a fellow in the Hedwig van Ameringen Executive Leadership in Academic Medicine program. Dr. Lefebvre received her D.D.S. and M.S. degrees in Prosthodontics from the University of Michigan School of Dentistry.

Dental Hygiene Staff at University of Maryland Honored by Special Olympics Special Smiles Program

Sheryl SymeLeila LibermanSheryl Syme, RDH, M.S., Associate Professor in the Division of Dental Hygiene and Director of the Degree Completion Dental Hygiene Program in the Department of Periodontics and Leila Liberman, RDH, B.S., Clinical Instructor in the Department of Periodontics at the University of Maryland School of Dentistry (UM SOD) received the Kathy Lyter Oral Health Hero Award from the Maryland Dental Action Coalition at the Maryland Oral Health Summit for their work with the Special Olympics Special Smiles Program. 
Ms. Syme and Ms. Liberman have worked together on this screening, educational and preventive oral health program for individuals with intellectual disabilities for over 17 years. Before they joined Special Olympics, the program was primarily an oral health screening program. Over the years, they developed the program to include fluoride varnish applications, making athletic mouth protectors and distributing oral health care bags. This program partners UM SOD students and faculty, community dentists and dental hygienists and professional dental and dental hygiene associations, enabling this event to expand the scope of services and number of individuals annually served.  
Duggan ad 2013