Bulletin of Dental Education

June 2010 Kudos

(Faculty, General, Leadership) Permanent link   All Posts

AAE Recognizes Dr. Baumgartner with Louis I. Grossman Award

Dr. J. Craig Baumgartner received the 2010 Louis I. Grossman Award during the American Association of Endodontists' (AAE) recent Annual Session in San Diego, California. The award recognizes an author for cumulative publication of significant research studies that have made an extraordinary contribution to endodontology.

Dr. Baumgartner has been an AAE member for nearly 40 years and is a vital contributor to endodontic research and literature. He has published more than 100 research articles and 13 textbook chapters, and was co-editor of the sixth edition of Ingle's Endodontics. A past Associate Editor of the Journal of Endodontics, Dr. Baumgartner also served as President of the American Board of Endodontics.

Professor, Chair of the Department of Endodontology, and Director of the advanced education program in endodontics at Oregon Health & Science University (OHSU) School of Dentistry, Dr. Baumgartner was awarded the status of Professor Emeritus and the President's Award from the OHSU Alumni Association upon his retirement. Previously, Dr. Baumgartner was Chief of Microbiology at the U.S. Army Institute of Dental Research and served as the Director of the advanced education program in endodontics at Walter Reed Army Medical Center.

Prof. Stage Named ADHA Award Recipient

Prof. Julie A. Stage, a full-time faculty member at Truckee Meadows Community College (TMCC), was named the American Dental Hygienists' Association (ADHA) 2010 recipient of the Alfred C. Fones Award. The award was given for her continuous commitment to community oral health projects. Prof. Stage designed and implemented the Senior Smile program at TWCC, which matches a senior citizen to a dental hygiene student; the pair is then adopted by a local dentist for dental services and education purposes.

Dr. Ove Peters Earns Diplomate Status from American Board of Endodontics

The American Board of Endodontics (ABE), an organization sponsored by the American Association of Endodontics (AAE), has declared Dr. Ove A. Peters of the University of Pacific Arthur A. Dugoni School of Dentistry a Diplomate of the ABE. Per ABE guidelines, a board-certified endodontist must understand the importance of achieving the highest level of knowledge and skill possible and apply new research and advances to the practice of endodontics.

"I am pleased to congratulate Dr. Peters on his award to Diplomate status of the American Board of Endodontics," said Dean Patrick J. Ferrillo, Jr. "Ove is a devoted member of our faculty and a well-known, highly respected professional in his specialty. This award speaks to his outstanding dedication to academia, research, and clinical expertise."

In addition to his position as Professor, Dr. Peters currently heads research conducted in the Endodontic Research Laboratory at the Dugoni School of Dentistry. Since 2007, he has focused on two core lines of research: testing of root canal instrumentation/disinfection techniques and outcomes of the host response during healing of periradicular lesions.

Dean Dolan Appointed to State Correctional Medical Authority

Dean Teresa A. Dolan, University of Florida College of Dentistry (Photo by UF College of Dentistry)The Florida State Senate confirmed Governor Charlie Crist's appointment of Dean Teresa A. Dolan of the University of Florida (UF) College of Dentistry to the State of Florida Correctional Medical Authority (CMA).

Dr. Dolan earned her doctorate in dental surgery from the University of Texas and a master's degree in public health from the University of California at Los Angeles. She continued her education by earning certificates in general dentistry at Long Island Jewish Medical Center; in geriatric dentistry at the Veterans Administration Medical Center in Sepulveda, California; and in dental public health at UF.  Dolan joined the faculty of UF in 1989 as the Director of Geriatric Dentistry and was appointed Dean of the college in 2003. Her two-year term on the CMA begins July 2010.

The CMA was created by the Florida legislature in 1986 in response to several key events including federal lawsuits filed by state prison inmates alleging inadequate medical care, overcrowding, and other complaints.

Duggan ad 2013