Bulletin of Dental Education

April 2010 Kudos

(Faculty, General) Permanent link   All Posts

AADR Announces 2010 Awards Recipients

The American Association for Dental Research (AADR) has announced its award winners for 2010. The recipients were recognized at the AADR Annual Meeting & Exhibition on March 3, 2010, in Washington, DC.

Dr. Dolphus R. Dawson, III, Assistant Professor of Periodontics and Associate Director of the Delta Dental of Kentucky Clinical Research Center at University of Kentucky College of Dentistry, is the recipient of the 2010 AADR Neal W. Chilton Fellowship in Clinical Research. The fellowship was designed to enable dental clinical faculty to obtain training in clinical research and provides a $5,000 stipend and additional $1,500 for travel.

Dr. Irwin D. Mandel, AADR Past President and Professor Emeritus, Columbia University, is the recipient of the inaugural 2010 AADR Distinguished Mentoring Award. The new award was established to provide national recognition for outstanding efforts to foster and promote research training and career development of students, trainees, and junior faculty.

Dr. John S. Greenspan, Professor of Oral Pathology at University of California, San Francisco School of Dentistry, is the recipient of the 2010 AADR Distinguished Scientist Award. This award is presented every two years. It recognizes outstanding research of particular significance in any of the fields related to oral science and is supported by GlaxoSmithKline.

Dean David C. Johnsen, University of Iowa College of Dentistry, is the recipient of the 2010 AADR Jack Hein Public Service Award. The award is given to individuals who have given exemplary service in the area of public affairs through tirelessly promoting the interests and activities of oral health research to a wide constituency.

Dr. John Kalmar Joins ADA Council on Scientific Affairs

Dr. John Kalmar, Professor of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery at The Ohio State University College of Dentistry, was appointed to the American Dental Association (ADA) Council on Scientific Affairs Advisory Committee that examines osteonecrosis of the jaw. He joins a select group of health experts from such institutions as the University of Iowa College of Dentistry, Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine, and the Mayo Clinic Dental Specialties Department. This advisory committee monitors current scientific literature and gathers new information related to the medication-associated osteonecrosis of the jaw.

Dr. Kalmar also serves on the Research and Scientific Affairs Committee for the American Academy of Oral and Maxillofacial Pathology, is on the editorial board of Oral Surgery, Oral Medicine, Oral Pathology, Oral Radiology, and Endodontology, and serves on the ADEA Commission on Change and Innovation in Dental Education.

ADA Foundation Tarrson Student Leadership Award Given to UNLV Dental Students

The American Dental Association (ADA) awarded the University of Nevada, Las Vegas (UNLV) School of Dental Medicine its 2009 Bud Tarrson Dental School Student Community Leadership Award in recognition of an oral health treatment program for National Guard troops. The school will receive $5,000 to enhance student education and outreach to underserved populations.

UNLV dental students founded the Sergeant Clint Ferrin Memorial Clinic in 2008. The program was started to meet the oral health needs of National Guard troops deemed non-deployable due to dental problems. Some of the troops do not have access to dental care because they are not on active duty, making them ineligible for military benefits. The program now includes all local military veterans with limited access to dental care.

The award, created in 2003 in memory of philanthropist Bud Tarrson, a director of the former ADA Health Foundation (now ADA Foundation), recognizes one exemplary volunteer community service project developed and implemented by dental students at a predoctoral dental education program.

Dr. Arthur Nimmo Elected to American Board of Prosthodontics

Dr. Arthur Nimmo, photo courtesy University of Florida College of DentistryDr. Arthur Nimmo, Director of Predoctoral Implant Dentistry at University of Florida College of Dentistry and Professor of Prosthodontics, was elected as an examining member of the American Board of Prosthodontics (ABP) for a seven-year term.

Dr. Nimmo is a Diplomate of the ABP and a Fellow of the American College of Prosthodontists (ACP). From 1995 to 2006, he served as a consultant to the American Dental Association for the National Board Examination Part II for the Prosthodontics Test Construction Committee and Consultant Review Committee.  Dr. Nimmo was the Commissioner representing the specialty of prosthodontics on the ADA Commission on Dental Accreditation from 2001 to 2005.  He is a Past President of the ACP and received the ACP Distinguished Service Award in 2005.

Marquette University Recognizes Dr. Charles J. Alexander

Dr. Charles J. Alexander, Associate Vice Provost for Student Diversity and Director of the Academic Advancement Program (AAP) at University of California, Los Angeles Division of Undergraduate Education, recently received the Distinguished Alumnus of the Year Award from Marquette University. Dr. Alexander is a former Associate Dean at University of California, San Francisco School of Dentistry and a former member of the ADEA Minority Affairs Advisory Committee.

Dr. Fredekind and Dr. Haden Honored at University of Pacific Arthur A. Dugoni School of Dentistry

o	Dr.															                                                       Richard Fredekind (left) with Dr. Marvin Carnow, Former Alumni Association President The University of Pacific Arthur A. Dugoni School of Dentistry Alumni Association presented Dr. Richard E. Fredekind and Dr. N. Karl Haden with the Medallion of Distinction. The two men were honored for their many years of service and support to the dental school.

Dr. Fredekind is Associate Dean for Clinical Services at the University of Pacific Arthur A. Dugoni School of Dentistry. He joined the school in 1984 as an assistant clinical professor. Over his 25 years of service, Dr. Fredekind has chaired and served on numerous committees, published several articles, and received numerous teaching awards. He is also a project director of the Future of the Clinic Information System (FOCIS) project and helped the dental school implement a new, paperless clinic information system.

o	Former															                                                         Alumni Association President Dr. Marvin Carnow (left), Dr. Karl Haden (center), Dean Patrick J. Ferrillo, Jr. (right)Dr. Haden is the founder and President of the Academy of Academic Leadership (AAL). He has consulted with clients in academic health care and provides expertise in leadership development, organizational change, strategic planning, and curriculum development. Dr. Haden has been instrumental in developing the Dugoni School of Dentistry's strategic plan and has assisted in the launch of the school's new Center for Advancing Learning and Teaching, to foster career development in the areas of learning, teaching, and leadership.

Duggan ad 2013