Bulletin of Dental Education

August 2011 Transitions

(Transitions) Permanent link   All Posts

In Memoriam: Dr. William H. Crawford, Jr. 

Dr. William H. Crawford, Jr.Dr. William H. Crawford, Jr., former Dean of University of Southern California Herman Ostrow School of Dentistry, died on June 18, 2011.

Dr. Crawford was named Dean in 1977 and served in that position until 1990. During his 13 years of leadership, the school underwent several changes, including renovations to the Norris Dental Science Center, the creation of the Special Patients Clinic and the Sterilizer Monitoring Service, and the opening of the Center for Craniofacial Molecular Biology on the Health Sciences campus.

He served in several other leadership roles, including Assistant Dean for Preclinical Affairs and Associate Dean for Academic Affairs before being named interim dean in 1972. Dr. Crawford established the school’s Board of Councilors and oversaw the creation of the Oral Pathology Laboratory.

“Dr. Crawford’s legacy, vision, and leadership continued to benefit the Ostrow School of Dentistry long after his term as Dean,” said Dr. Avishai Sadan, the school’s current Dean. “He will be greatly missed by the Trojan dental family.”

Dr. Hester Rumberg Dies 

Dr. Hester Rumberg of the University of Manitoba Faculty of Dentistry died June 26, 2011. She was the 2009 recipient of the Alumni of Distinction honor for the School of Dental Hygiene.

Dr. Taras Snihurowycz Dies 

Dr. Taras Snihurowycz, one of the original faculty members at the University of Manitoba Faculty of Dentistry, died July 5, 2011. He was a long-time professor and dedicated educator who retained strong ties with the school after his retirement. Dr. Snihurowycz was a lifelong member of the Manitoba Dental Association and charter member of the Unviersity of Manitoba Dental Alumni Association. He was the inaugural recipient of the Alumni of Distinction award in 1998.

Dr. Guba Named IU’s New Associate Dean for Academic Affairs 

Indiana University (IU) School of Dentistry announced the addition of Dr. Christianne J. Guba as its new Associate Dean for Academic Affairs. The new position will bring all of the school’s academic programs under the administration of one office.

A member of the full-time IU faculty since 1987, Dr. Guba is an Associate Professor of Restorative Dentistry and has served in recent years as the school’s Patient Privacy (HIPAA) Officer and as Director of Clinical Assessment and Quality Assurance for the Office of Clinical Affairs.

As Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, she will oversee and administer academic policies and conduct regular assessments of all academic programs to assure desired outcomes. She will lead ongoing efforts to review and assess the school’s curricula, as well as work with the faculty to build and maintain programs that are in sync with one another, continue to meet the high standards of the school, and keep pace with the ever-changing fields of oral health and dental science. The position replaces the former Associate Deanship for Dental Education, which primarily managed the Doctor of Dental Surgery (D.D.S.) degree program.

IU Appoints Dr. Yoder to New Directorship 

Dean John N. Williams Jr. of Indiana University (IU) School of Dentistry and ADEA Vice President for Deans recently announced the creation of an Office for Civic Engagement and appointed Dr. Karen M. Yoder to serve as its new Director. Dr. Yoder previously directed IU’s Division of Community Dentistry as well as the statewide Seal Indiana mobile preventive dentistry program.

“The role of the Director of Civic Engagement and Health Policy is to promote health policy skills and advocacy among students and faculty and to facilitate local, national, and international service-learning (ISL) programs, secure grant and foundation funding to enhance civic engagement, and serve as a central point for public inquiry about the dental school’s many outreach programs,” said Dr. Williams.

Originally a dental hygienist, Dr. Yoder has been involved with public health for most of her career. She joined IU’s full-time faculty as Director of Community Dentistry in 2002 after serving for many years in part-time positions on IU’s Indianapolis and Fort Wayne campuses and as a Dental Public Health Consultant for the Indiana State Department of Health.

Dr. Dean Tapped to Head American Board of Pediatric Dentistry 

Dr. Jeffrey A. Dean, Executive Associate Dean and Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs at Indiana University (IU) School of Dentistry, has been named as the Executive Director of the American Board of Pediatric Dentistry (ABPD). He will replace Dr. Arthur J. Nowak, a Professor Emeritus of the University of Iowa’s Departments of Pediatrics and Pediatric Dentistry.

Dr. Dean has been a faculty member at IU since 1985 and is the Ralph E. McDonald Professor of Pediatric Dentistry and a Professor of Orthodontics at the School of Dentistry and Riley Hospital for Children at IU Health. He is also a part-time practitioner of pediatric dentistry and orthodontics in Indianapolis. He has been certified as a diplomate of the American Board of Pediatric Dentistry for nearly two decades and of the American Board of Orthodontics since 2004. He is a Past President of both the American Board of Pediatric Dentistry and its College of Diplomates.

Dr. Rodriguez Named Vice President for Education for the AAL 

Tobias E. Rodriguez, Ph.D., has been named Vice President for Education for the Academy for Academic Leadership. A former Assistant Professor of Oral and Craniofacial Biology at the Louisiana State University School of Dentistry, Dr. Rodriguez received his doctorate in Microbiology and Immunology from the University of Michigan. He is a 2011 alumnus of the ADEA Leadership Institute. Dr. Rodriguez also currently holds a position as a member of the ADEA Center for Educational Research and Policy Advisory Committee (ADEA CEPRAC).

Duggan ad 2013