ADEA/Sunstar Americas, Inc./Harry W. Bruce, Jr. Legislative Fellowship

Apply now! Application available below

This public policy fellowship provides a unique learning experience in Washington, DC. The fellowship is designed to familiarize dental school faculty or administrators with the federal legislative process as it relates to dental education, dental research, and the oral health of the nation.


Dental school faculty members or administrators who want to interface with members of Congress on issues of importance to oral health are encouraged to apply for the ADEA/Sunstar Americas, Inc./Harry W. Bruce, Jr. Legislative Fellowship. The fellow selected spends three months in Washington, DC, working on issues that could make a difference in the life of every American.

This public policy fellowship coincides with congressional consideration of the federal budget and other legislative and regulatory activities important to dental education and research. The fellow functions as an ADEA staff member who works within the Advocacy and Governmental Relations (ADEA AGR) focus area on ADEA’s specific legislative priorities. The fellow’s responsibilities may include drafting legislative and report language, position papers and testimony; educating members of Congress and other decision-makers on matters of importance to dental education; and participating in gatherings of various national coalitions. The fellow receives a taxable stipend of $15,000 to cover travel and expenses for approximately three months (cumulative) in Washington, DC (ADEA is flexible in the arrangement of time away from the fellow’s institution; the time need not be consecutive). The fellow’s institution continues to provide salary support for the duration of the experience. Since its inception in 1985, the ADEA/Sunstar Americas, Inc./Harry W. Bruce, Jr. Legislative Fellowship has been generously underwritten by Sunstar Americas, Inc. Interested candidates should apply now for consideration. The application deadline is November 1, 2018

Fellowship Eligibility Requirements

An applicant must:

  • Be a full-time faculty member or administrator at an ADEA Member Institution.
  • Be an ADEA Individual Member.

Application Process Checklist

Submit the following:

  • The completed ADEA Awards, Scholarships, and Fellowships Application form.
  • A personal statement describing what the applicant anticipates from the fellowship, how the fellowship will benefit the applicant's institution, and the applicant's relevant experience.
  • A letter of recommendation from the applicant's dean or chief institutional officer endorsing the candidate and specifying the institution's commitment to pay the candidate's salary and fringe benefits for the duration of the ADEA residency experience.
  • A current curriculum vitae.
  • Two confidential letters of recommendation mailed directly to ADEA.

Incomplete applications will not be considered.

Return applications to:

B. Timothy Leeth              
American Dental Education Association    
655 K Street NW
Suite 800
Washington, DC 20001

Please contact Timothy Leeth, Chief Advocacy Officer for Advocacy and Governmental Relations at with any questions.

Interview and Notification

Finalists will be notified to schedule an interview with the selection committee. 

Past Recipients

Prof. Jane Walsh, Louisiana State University Health New Orleans School of Dentistry

Dr. Kalu U.E. Ogbureke, University of TexasSchool of Dentistry at Houston


Britta E. Magnuson, Tufts University School of Dental Medicine


Dr. Gregory Olson, Loma Linda University School of Dentistry

Dr. Alison Glascoe, Howard University College of Dentistry

Dr. Mark S. Schweizer, Nova Southeastern University

Dr. Harinder Sandhu, University of Western Ontario

Brooke S. Bodart, Indiana University South Bend College of Health Sciences

Ms. Sheryl "Kim" Chambers, University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston

Dr. Gregory A. Stoute, Boston University

Dr. Janet E. Leigh, Louisiana State University

Dr. Joan E. Kowolik, Indiana University

Dr. Steven D. London, Medical University of South Carolina

Dr. Carol F. Anderson, University of Maryland

Prof. Mary George, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Dr. Sheila Koh, University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston

Dr. Randy Kluender, University of Colorado School of Dentistry

Dr. Paula K. Friedman, Boston University

Dr. Charles J. Alexander, University of California, San Francisco

Dr. Albert J. Whitehead, Nova Southeastern University

Dr. Victor M. Badner, Montefiore Medical Center
Dr. Gary E. Jeffers, University of Detroit Mercy
Dr. R. Ivan Lugo, Temple University
Dr. Anne Wells, University of Louisville

Dr. Harvey C. Eplee, University of Missouri-Kansas City School of Dentistry

Dr. Nicholas G. Mosca, University of Mississippi Medical Center 

Dr. William Dodge, University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio

Dr. Sharon Hill, Baylor College of Dentistry

Dr. Gary Jeffers, University of Detroit Mercy

Dr. William Buchanan, University of Louisville

Dr. Joseph Grasso, University of Connecticut

Dr. Cheryl Cameron, University of Washington

Dr. Thomas Taft, Marquette University

Dr. Fred More, University of Michigan

Dr. Robert Barsley, Louisiana State University

Dr. Stephen Young, University of Oklahoma

Dr. David Nash, University of Kentucky

Related Links