ADEA/Colgate Oral Pharmaceuticals, Inc. Excellence in Teaching Award


The American Dental Education Association (ADEA)/Colgate Oral Pharmaceuticals, Inc. Excellence in Teaching Award recognizes dental educators who demonstrate exemplary standards and promote excellence in dental education through scholarship and innovation. The award is ultimately aimed at enriching educational experiences by generating intellectual excitement within dental institutions and programs.

This commitment to excellence and the scholarship of teaching and learning may be demonstrated in any dental, allied dental or advanced dental instructional setting, including classroom or laboratory instruction, clinical teaching or preceptorships, research and instructional mentoring, continuing education, community-based instructional settings or electronically mediated teaching and learning experiences. 


Use your MyADEA Login to sign in.


The ADEA Council of Faculties established and participates in the selection process for this highly prestigious award. To ensure the excellence and continuity of the award, the ADEA Council of Faculties strongly recommends the recipient maintain a high profile in teaching excellence within his or her school or program and at nationally recognized educational forums.

The recipient should also be actively involved in identifying future nominees. The recipient will receive a $2,500 award to be used to enhance his or her teaching efforts. The recipient is encouraged to share his or her expertise with ADEA members through submission to ADEA weTeach®, poster or presentation at a future ADEA Annual Session & Exhibition, submission of an article to Journal of Dental Education and/or other similar appropriate venues.

Eligibility Requirements

Nominees are to be identified and recognized initially within individual institutions or programs of dental, allied dental or advanced dental education. Ideally, identification, review and recognition of the candidates will be coordinated by a team comprised of: 

  • The ADEA Council of Faculties Representative, if available, or if the nominee is the ADEA Council of Faculties Representative, another faculty member from that institution or program should serve on the nomination team.
  • The dean, academic dean or program director.
  • A peer teaching professional.
  • An appropriate student or alumni representative.

Nominations are to be forwarded by the dean or program director. General characteristics and identifiers of excellence in teaching include the following: 

  • General Characteristics
    • Commitment to principles of lifelong learning.
    • Demonstrated creativity in curriculum design or innovation in the delivery of education to students.
    • Motivation of students to study and master subject matter or clinical competency.
    • Regarded by peers as an excellent educator.
    • Exemplary mentoring skills.
    • Student-centered approach that shows concern for growth and development.
    • Identifiable impact on student learning.
  • Teaching Excellence Identifiers
    • Performance evaluations conducted by peers and students.
    • Application of the philosophy of the scholarship of teaching and learning.
    • Development of innovative teaching and learning strategies or technologies.
    • Continuous improvement of courses.
    • Articles, invited presentations or workshops on teaching strategies and effectiveness.
  • Excellence in Clinical Instruction
    • Provides thorough orientation for students in their clinical experiences.
    • Discusses scientific underpinnings for patient management protocols.
    • Cultivates students’ analytical abilities and judgment skills.
    • Integrates textbooks and didactic learning into clinical encounters.

The nominee must demonstrate excellence in teaching students, hold a full-time faculty appointment at an ADEA Member Institution and be an ADEA Individual Member.

Application Process Checklist

The following items must be submitted by Sept. 12, 2024, using the ADEA online application process.

  1. An abbreviated curriculum vitae including:
    • Name, mailing address, telephone and fax numbers and email address.
    • Title and academic rank.
    • Employer.
    • Years of experience.
    • Current academic appointment.
    • Previous academic appointment(s).
    • Educational background (area of study, schools and programs attended and graduation dates).
    • Other training or education (fellowships, residencies, courses and completion dates).
    • Teaching accomplishments, honors and awards.
  2. An optional listing of key publications and presentations.
  3. A listing of career highlights.
  4. A composite letter of nomination to be prepared by the dean, academic dean or program director with input from the ADEA Council of Faculties institutional representative, if available, a peer professional and a student or alumni representative. The letter should detail the nominee’s contribution to the scholarship of teaching and learning and describe the reasons the nominee should receive the award. This letter must identify the nominee’s past recognition and summarize the most recent course evaluations.
  5. A personal statement outlining: 
    • The nominee’s educational development, self-learning, growth in teaching and goals.
    • The nominee’s philosophy of teaching and ways he or she has contributed to the student learning experience.
    • How the award will be used to advance the scholarship of teaching and learning.  

Notification Date and Award Announcement

Scholarship recipients and applicants not receiving awards will be notified on or before Dec. 6, 2024.   

Awards will be announced during the 2025 ADEA Annual Session & Exhibition, March 8–11, 2025, in National Harbor, MD.


Please contact the ADEA Office of Learning at with questions.

Past Recipients

Dr. Anita Joy-Thomas,
UTHealth Houston School of Dentistry

Dr. Dharini van der Hoeven, UTHealth Houston School of Dentistry

Dr. Jayne Reuben, Texas A&M University School of Dentistry

Dr. Hiroe Ohyama, Harvard School of Dental Medicine

Dr. Michael McMaster, University of California, San Francisco, School of Dentistry

Dr. Shalizeh Patel, University of Texas School of Dentistry at Houston

Dr. Janice Townsend, Louisiana State University Health New Orleans School of Dentistry

Dr. So Ran Kwon, Loma Linda University School of Dentistry

Dr. Alison Doubleday, University of Illinois at Chicago College of Dentistry 

Dr. Melissa Ing, Tufts University School of Dental Medicine

Dr. Mark Fitzgerald, University of Michigan School of Dentistry

Dr. H. Wayne Lambert, West Virginia University School of Dentistry

Dr. Ranier M. Adarve, University of Minnesota School of Dentistry

Dr. Bob Hutchins, Texas A&M University Baylor College of Dentistry

Dr. Andrew I. Spielman, New York University College of Dentistry

Dr. Prenprapa S. Klinkachorn, West Virginia University School of Dentistry

Dr. Mildred McClain, University of Nevada, Las Vegas, School of Dental Medicine

Dr. Neil Norton, Creighton University School of Dentistry

Dr. George Gallagher, Boston University Henry M. Goldman School of Dental Medicine

Dr. Stephen Bayne, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Dentistry

Dr. Chris Rice, University of Missouri - Kansas City School of Dentistry

Prof. Marsha Cunningham, University of Iowa College of Dentistry

Dr. Charles Shuler, Ostrow School of Dentistry at the University of Southern California

Dr. Louis Abbey, Virginia Commonwealth University School of Dentistry