ADEA/Colgate-Palmolive Co. Allied Dental Educators Fellowship

The American Dental Education Association (ADEA)/Colgate-Palmolive Co. Allied Dental Educators Fellowship promotes leadership development of faculty members in allied dental education. This fellowship provides the opportunity for an allied dental educator to focus on a broad range of issues affecting allied dental education; for example, policy, research, budget and finance, faculty development and advancement, legislation and gender and workforce issues.


This fellowship provides support to participate in one of two opportunities which are available during alternate years: 

  • During odd years (2019, 2021, etc.)—two recipients will be awarded a fellowship of $2,000 for tuition, travel and fees associated with the ADEA Allied Dental Faculty Leadership Development Program (ADEA ADFLDP). To qualify to attend the ADEA ADFLDP, applicants must complete the application process and have the full support of their dean or program director. (This option is being offered during the current 2019 cycle.)
  • During even years (2018, 2020, 2022, etc.)—one recipient will spend the fellowship at the ADEA office. The fellow receives a stipend of $4,000 to cover travel and expenses for the cumulative three-month experience in Washington, DC. The fellow’s institution continues to provide salary support for the duration of the experience. While working with ADEA staff during even years, the fellow will work on issues such as:
    • Faculty recruitment, development and retention.
    • Leadership development.
    • Teaching strategies.
    • Competencies and their assessment.
    • Accreditation and licensure.
    Each applicant should have a specific project in mind that he or she would like to pursue. The fellow’s outlined project, interest and talents will be considered during the selection process. ADEA will be flexible in the arrangement of time away from the fellow’s institution. (This option is not being offered during the current 2019 cycle.)

Eligibility Requirements 

An applicant must:

  • Have at least five years of experience as an allied dental faculty member.
  • Demonstrate strong leadership qualities and interest in allied dental education, administration or higher education administration.
  • Hold a full-time allied dental faculty appointment at an ADEA Member Institution.
  • Be an ADEA Individual Member.

Application Process Checklist 

ADEA Allied Dental Faculty Development Leadership Program applicants must submit the following on or before November 1, 2018, in addition to their ADEA ADFLDP applications in order to be considered for the fellowship:

  • A summary describing how the fellowship would benefit the institution and the applicant and outlining the kind of experience the applicant anticipates as a fellow;
  • One letter of recommendation from a professional colleague.

    Notification Date and Award Announcement
    Scholarship recipients and applicants not receiving awards will be notified on or before February 1, 2019. Awards will be announced at a ceremony during the 2019 ADEA Annual Session & Exhibition in Chicago, IL, March 16–19, 2019.

    Contact Mr. Eric Lund, ADEA Professional Development Manager, at 202-513-1188 or


    Past Recipients

    Ms. Carrie Hobbs, Tyler Junior College
    Ms. Rachel Kashani-Legler, Normandale Community College

    Prof. Michelle McGregor, Virginia Commonwealth University School of Dentistry


    Prof. Brian Partido, The Ohio State University College of Dentistry
    Prof. Tanya Villalpando Mitchell, University of Missouri - Kansas City School of Dentistry


    Prof. Rebecca Stolberg, Eastern Washington University


    Prof. Janet Kinney, University of Michigan School of Dentistry


    Prof. Rachel Henry, The Ohio State University College of Dentistry

    Dr. Donna F. Homenko, Cuyahoga Community College


    Prof. Donna P. Warren-Morris, The University of Texas School of Dentistry at Houston

    Prof. Suzanne K. Farrar, Louisiana State University Health New Orleans School of Dentistry

    Prof. Joycelyn A. Dillon, New York City College of Technology

    Prof. Deborah J. Horlak, University of the Pacific, Arthur A. Dugoni School of Dentistry

    Prof. Lorie Holt, University of Missouri - Kansas City School of Dentistry

    Prof. Susan Duley, Clayton State University
    Prof. Rebecca Wilder, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Dentistry

    Dr. Cynthia Gadbury-Amyot, University of Missouri - Kansas City School of Dentistry

    Prof. Josette L. Beach, Portland (Oregon) Community College

    Prof. Terri Tillis, The University of Colorado School of Dental Medicine

    Prof. Patricia Nunn, University of Oklahoma College of Dentistry

    Dr. Jane Forrest, Ostrow School of Dentistry of the University of Southern California

    Prof. Donna Kotyk, Salish Kootenai College

    Prof. Cheryl Westphal, New York University College of Dentistry

    Prof. Durinda J. Mattana, University of Detroit Mercy School of Dentistry

    Prof. Marie Varley Gillis, Howard University College of Dentistry