ADEA/ADEA Council of Students, Residents and Fellows/Colgate-Palmolive Co. Junior Faculty Award


The American Dental Education Association (ADEA), the ADEA Council of Students, Residents and Fellows (ADEA COSRF) and Colgate-Palmolive Co. wish to recognize outstanding junior faculty who demonstrate excellence in teaching, research and service and a commitment to dental education. Junior faculty represent a unique group of educators who symbolize the future of dental education. Often, the contributions made by these faculty go unnoticed, influencing faculty retention. It is anticipated that this award will acknowledge the accomplishments of junior faculty and promote awareness of the needs of this distinct group of educators.



The recipient will receive a $2,500 award to be used to enhance his or her teaching, research and service efforts.

The award will be announced at the 2023 ADEA Annual Session & Exhibition in Portland, OR, March 11-14, 2023.

Eligibility Requirements

Applicants are to be initially identified and recognized within individual institutions or programs of dental education. Ideally, identification and recognition of candidates will be coordinated by the local ADEA Chapter. If an ADEA Chapter does not exist, it is recommended that the institution either establish a Junior Faculty Award nomination review committee (comprised of ADEA COSRF representative(s), ADEA Council of Faculties or Council of Allied Dental Program Directors representatives, and the dean) or convene an existing committee that includes a student representative.

The final selection will be made by a national selection committee comprised of representatives from the ADEA Council of Students, Residents and Fellows, the ADEA Council of Faculties, the ADEA Council of Deans, the ADEA Council of Allied Dental Program Directors, and an officer of the ADEA Board of Directors and the ADEA President and CEO (ex officio).

An applicant must:

  • Demonstrate excellence in teaching, research or service.
  • Have held a full-time predoctoral or advanced dental education faculty appointment at an ADEA Member Institution for no more than five years.
  • Have no more than five years of experience in academia.
  • Be an ADEA Individual Member.

Application Deadline

All applications must be emailed to by 11:59 p.m. Dec. 9, 2022. Applications will not be considered if they are incomplete or submitted after Dec. 9, 2022.

Application Process Checklist

Submit in one email the following documents, either separate attachments or one attachment, by 11:59 p.m. December 9, 2022:

  1. The completed ADEA Awards, Scholarships and Fellowships Application form. PDF
  2. The completed ADEA/ADEA Council of Students, Residents and Fellows/Colgate-Palmolive Co. Junior Faculty Award Student Nomination Form. PDF This is to be completed by the institution’s ADEA COSRF representative detailing the applicant's contribution to teaching, research and service.
  3. A letter of nomination from the chair of the institution’s Junior Faculty Award nomination committee (or existing committee that includes a student representative) OR department chair.
  4. A personal statement from the applicant describing his or her philosophy of teaching, research and service and his or her contributions to the tripartite mission of the dental school.
  5. A curriculum vitae.
  6. The dental school dean’s signature on the application form.

Submit applications via email to

Notification Date and Award Announcement

The award recipient will be notified by February 10, 2023.

An award and commemorative certificate will be presented to the award recipient at the 2023 ADEA Annual Session & Exhibition, March 11-14, 2023


Please contact Dr. Shelvia English via email at with any questions.

Past Recipients

Prof. Emily Ludwig, 
Old Dominion University College of Health Sciences School of Dental Hygiene

Dr. Lorel Burns, NYU College of Dentistry

Dr. Jacqueline Burgette, University of Pittsburgh School of Dental Medicine

Dr. Karren Komitas, University of Texas School of Dentistry at Houston

Dr. Faizan Kabani, Texas A&M University College of Dentistry, Caruth School of Dental Hygiene

Dr. Edmund Khoo, New York University College of Dentistry

Dr. Jennifer Perkins, University of California, San Francisco School of Dentistry

Dr. Georgios Maroulakos, Marquette University School of Dentistry

Dr. Amy C. Killeen, University of Nebraska Medical Center College of Dentistry

Dr. Anita Joy, Southern Illinois University

Dr. Jompobe Vuthiganon, Medical University of South Carolina

Dr. Sophia Saeed, University of California, San Francisco

Dr. Berna Saglik, University of Michigan

Dr. Natasha Flake, University of Washington

Dr. Lee Warren Boushell, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

Dr. Paul S. Tiwana, University of Louisville

Dr. Sharon Lanning, Virginia Commonwealth University

Dr. Susan Hyde, University of California, San Francisco

Dr. Swee-Chian Tan, University of Iowa

Dr. Andres Pinto, University of Pennsylvania

Related Links