ADEA Special Interest Groups

An ADEA Special Interest Group (SIG) is a group of ADEA members with similar professional specialties who come together to exchange ideas and keep themselves informed about current and discrete developments in the field of dental education. The activities of an ADEA SIG are planned by its members and elected officers and provide a clear indication of the diverse interests and needs of its members. 

Through participation in an ADEA SIG, you can help design what, in essence, are small professional organizations within the association. Only ADEA members can belong to an ADEA SIG, though each member can belong to as many SIGs as desired. 

You can join SIGs by logging in to your ADEA membership profile. Once you have joined a SIG, you are automatically opted in the respective ADEA Connect community for the group. You will remain on the community until you have opted out or until your ADEA membership expires.

 

JOIN button

The goals and objectives of this Special Interest Group are to provide a forum for faculty to communicate about the various aspects of integrating CAD/CAM into dental curriculum for the betterment of their universities.

Community email:  adea-SIGCadCamTech@ConnectedCommunity.org

 

Chair
Matthew Zweig, D.M.D.
Boston University Henry M. Goldman School of Dental Medicine
mzweig@bu.edu             


Chair-elect
Marilia M. Sly, D.D.S., M.S.D.
University of Texas School of Dentistry at Houston
Marilia.M.Sly@uth.tmc.edu             


Secretary
Afsheen Lakhani, D.M.D., CAGS
Boston University Henry M. Goldman School of Dental Medicine
Alakhani@bu.edu

 

The ADEA Special Interest Group on Career Development for the New Educator addresses the teaching, service, research and professional development needs of recently appointed dental and allied dental faculty.

Community email:  adea-SIGCareerDev@ConnectedCommunity.org

 

Chair
Irina F. Dragan, D.D.S., D.M.D., M.S.
Tufts University School of Dental Medicine
irina.dragan@tufts.edu


Chair-elect
Thaisa B. Bordin, D.D.S., M.Sc., Ph.D.
Tufts University School of Dental Medicine
thaisa.bordin@tufts.edu


Secretary  
Mary Kang, D.D.S.
NYU College of Dentistry
marykang@nyu.edu

 

The ADEA Special Interest Group on Dental Hygiene Clinical Coordinators addresses issues affecting the clinical aspect of dental hygiene.

Community email:  adea-SIGDHCC@ConnectedCommunity.org

 

Chair
Iwonka T. Eagle, RDH, M.S.
University of Michigan School of Dentistry
ilenda@umich.edu


Chair-elect
Jennifer B. Harmon, RDH, M.S.
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Adams School of Dentistry
Jennifer_Harnon@unc.edu


Secretary
Emily R. Holt, M.H.A., RDH, CDA, EFDA
University of Southern Indiana
erholt@usi.edu

 

The mission of the ADEA Special Interest Group on Evidence Based Dentistry is to promote Evidence-Based Dentistry in dental school curriculums; define competencies for EBD; facilitate faculty education on EBD skills; improve our teaching efforts to promote oral health of individuals, populations and communities; and to increase the ethical and quality evidence-based care.

Community email: adea-SIGEBD@ConnectedCommunity.org

 


Chair
David M. Leader, D.M.D., M.P.H.
Tufts University School of Dental Medicine
David.Leader@tufts.edu


Chair-elect
Hanann Tomeh, D.D.S.
A.T. Still University Arizona School of Dentistry & Oral Health
htomeh@atsu.edu


Secretary
Amanda Nevius
Tufts University School of Dental Medicine
amanda.nevius@tufts.edu

 

The ADEA Special Interest Group on Graduate Dental Hygiene Education Programs explores and examines opportunities, challenges and best practices in admissions, recruitment, curricula and scholarship related to graduate dental hygiene education.

Community email:  adea-SIGGradDenHyEd@ConnectedCommunity.org

 

Chair
Denise M. Claiborne, RDH, Ph.D.
Old Dominion University
dclaibor@odu.edu


Chair-elect
Linda D. Boyd, RDH, RDN, Ed.D.
Forsyth School of Dental Hygiene, Massachusetts College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences
linda.boyd@mcphs.edu


Secretary
Leciel Bono, RDH, M.S.
Idaho State University
bonoleci@isu.edu

 

The ADEA Special Interest Group on Implant Dentistry addresses the interests of faculty in the advancement of implant dentistry in the curriculum.

Community email:  adea-SIGImplantDent@ConnectedCommunity.org

 

Chair
Neal Fleisher, D.M.D.
Boston University Henry M. Goldman School of Dental Medicine
neefly@bu.edu


Chair-elect
Pinelopi Pani, D.D.S., M.S.
Boston University Henry M. Goldman School of Dental Medicine
ppani@bu.edu


Secretary
Vasiliki Tsakalelli, D.M.D., D.D.S., M.S.
Tufts University School of Dental Medicine
vasiliki.tsakalelli@tufts.edu

 

The ADEA Special Interest Group on Internationally Educated Oral Health Professionals provides a forum for administrators, staff and faculty involved in the formation, teaching or administration of international dental programs to meet and communicate information and concerns of mutual interest, and to represent, assist, and advocate on behalf of our internationally educated colleagues.

Community email:  adea-SIGIEOHP@ConnectedCommunity.org

 

Chair        
Luis C. Yepes, D.D.S.
UT Health San Antonio School of Dentistry
yepes@uthscsa.edu


Chair-elect
Kadambari Rawal, B.D.S., CAGS, M.S.D., FASGD, FICD
Boston University Henry M. Goldman School of Dental Medicine
Kady@bu.edu


Secretary
Shirley Lewis-Miranda, B.D.S., CAGS, M.Sc.D.
Texas A&M University College of Dentistry
slewis@tamu.edu

 

The ADEA Special Interest Group on Interprofessional Education and Collaborative Care explores and shares resources focused on interprofessional education and laboratory coursework and promotes activities and curricula for dental professionals to collaborate and communicate with other health care professionals to enhance patient safety.

Community email: adea-SIGIPECC@ConnectedCommunity.org

 

Chair
Geralyn (Geri) Crain, D.D.S., Ph.D.       
Roseman University of Health Sciences College of Dental Medicine—South Jordan, Utah
gcrain@roseman.edu


Chair-elect
Youjin Natalie Jeong, D.M.D., M.A.
Tufts University School of Dental Medicine
natalie.jeong@tufts.edu


Secretary
Katherine D. Velasco, D.D.S.
Roseman University of Health Sciences College of Dental Medicine—South Jordan, Utah
kvelasco@roseman.edu

 

The ADEA Special Interest Group on Lasers in Dentistry is a forum to explore the safe and effective use of lasers in all areas of dentistry and to help integrate and evaluate the knowledge and skills required to use all laser light technologies and techniques within the dental curriculum and practice.

Community email:  adea-SIGLasers@ConnectedCommunity.org

 

Chair
Scott D. Benjamin, D.D.S.
University of Rochester Medical Center
SBenjamin@dentalaim.com


Chair-elect
Preetha P. Kanjirath, B.D.S., M.D.S., M.S.
Midwestern University, College of Dental Medicine—Illinois
pkanji@midwestern.edu              


Secretary
Andrew W. Browar, D.D.S., FACSS, FICD
Midwestern University College of Dental Medicine—Illinois
abrowa@midwestern.edu

 

The ADEA Special Interest Group on Professional, Ethical, and Legal Issues provides a forum for ADEA members to address issues in ethics, professionalism and legal matters in dental education.

Community email:  adea-SIGProfEthLgl@ConnectedCommunity.org

 

Chair
Carlos S. Smith, D.D.S., M.Div.
Virginia Commonwealth University School of Dentistry
cssmith2@vcu.edu


Chair-elect
Pamela Jones, Ph.D.
University at Buffalo School of Dental Medicine
pcjones@buffalo.edu


Secretary
Preetha P. Kanjirath, B.D.S., M.D.S., M.S.
Midwestern University College of Dental Medicine—Illinois
pkanji@midwestern.edu

 

The ADEA Special Interest Group on Scholarship of Teaching and Learning is a rich discussion forum that provides members the opportunity to learn and build upon the experiences and knowledge of their teaching peers within an infrastructure to support the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning throughout dental education.

Community email:  adea-SIGSoTL@ConnectedCommunity.org

 

Chair
Nancy B. Young, D.M.D., M.Ed.
Dental College of Georgia at Augusta University
nayoung@augusta.edu


Chair-elect
Tobie A. Jones, D.M.D., M.S.       
Oregon Health & Science University School of Dentistry
jonesto@ohsu.edu


Secretary
Matthew D. Mara, D.M.D., M.Ed., Ed.D.              
Boston University Henry M. Goldman School of Dental Medicine
maramb@bu.edu

 

The ADEA Special Interest Group on Teaching and Learning with Emerging Technology focuses on the exploration of and use of new and emerging technologies, and their use in dental education teaching and learning.

Community email:  adea-SIGTeachLearnET@ConnectedCommunity.org

 

Chair
Parvati H. Iyer, D.D.S.
University of the Pacific Arthur A. Dugoni School of Dentistry
piyer@pacific.edu


Chair-elect
Meixun Sinky Zheng, Ph.D.
University of the Pacific Arthur A. Dugoni School of Dentistry
szheng@pacific.edu


Secretary
Mustafa Radif, B.D.S., RDHAP, M.A
University of the Pacific Arthur A. Dugoni School of Dentistry
mradif@pacific.edu

 

The ADEA Special Interest Group on Women in Leadership provides a forum for ADEA members interested in advocating for the advancement of women in dental education and gender equity.

Community email:  adea-SIGWIL@ConnectedCommunity.org

 

Chair
Ana Lopez-Fuentes, D.M.D., M.P.H.
University of Puerto Rico School of Dental Medicine
ana.lopez6@upr.edu


Chair-elect
Elizabeth Andrews, D.D.S. M.S.
Western University of Health Sciences College of Dental Medicine
eandrews@westernu.edu


Secretary
Michelle Brady, D.D.S.
University of the Pacific Arthur A. Dugoni School of Dentistry
mbrady1@pacific.edu