ADEA Special Interest Groups

An ADEA Special Interest Group (SIG) is a group of ADEA members with similar professional specialties who come together to exchange ideas and keep themselves informed about current and discrete developments in the field of dental education. The activities of an ADEA SIG are planned by its members and elected officers and provide a clear indication of the diverse interests and needs of its members. 

Through participation in an ADEA SIG, you can help design what, in essence, are small professional organizations within the association. Only ADEA members can belong to an ADEA SIG, though each member can belong to as many SIGs as desired. 

You can join SIGs by  logging in to your ADEA membership profile. Once you have joined an SIG, you are automatically opted in to the respective Listserv for the group. You will remain on the Listserv until you have opted out or until your ADEA membership expires.

Learn more about using ADEA’s Listserv lists.

 

Join a SIG

 

The goals and objectives of this Special Interest Group are to provide a forum for faculty to communicate about the various aspects of integrating CAD/CAM into dental curriculum for the betterment of their universities.

Listserv:  cadcamtech@Listserv.adea.org

 

Chair
Geraldine Weinstein, D.D.S.
University of Connecticut School of Dental Medicine
gweinstein@uchc.edu


Chair-elect
Matthew Zweig, D.M.D.
Boston University Henry M. Goldman School of Dental Medicine
mzweig@bu.edu             


Secretary
Marilia Sly, D.D.S., M.S.D.
University of Texas School of Dentistry at Houston
Marilia.M.Sly@uth.tmc.edu             

 

The ADEA Special Interest Group on Career Development for the New Educator addresses the teaching, service, research and professional development needs of recently appointed dental and allied dental faculty.

Listserv:  cdne@Listserv.adea.org

 

Chair    
Jennifer L. Atkinson, D.M.D., M.A.Ed.
Midwestern University College of Dental Medicine-Arizona
jatkin@midwestern.edu


Chair-Elect
Irina Dragan, D.D.S., M.S.
Tufts University School of Dental Medicine
irina.dragan@tufts.edu


Secretary
Thaisa Bordin, D.D.S., M.S., Ph.D.
Tufts University School of Dental Medicine
thaisa.bordin@tufts.edu

 

The ADEA Special Interest Group on Dental Hygiene Clinical Coordinators addresses issues affecting the clinical aspect of dental hygiene.

Listserv:  dhcc@Listserv.adea.org

 

Chair
Martha McComas, B.S., M.S.
University of Michigan School of Dentistry
mccomas@umich.edu


Chair-elect
Iwonka Eagle, RDH, M.S.
University of Michigan School of Dentistry
ilenda@umich.edu


Secretary
Jennifer Harmon, RDH, M.S.
University of Michigan School of Dentistry
Jennifer_Harmon@unc.edu

 

The mission of the SIG on Evidence Based Dentistry is to promote Evidence-Based Dentistry in dental school curriculums; define competencies for EBD; facilitate faculty education on EBD skills; improve our teaching efforts to promote oral health of individuals, populations and communities; and to increase the ethical and quality evidence-based care.

Listserv: EBD@listserv.adea.org

 

Chair
Analia Veitz-Keenan, D.D.S.
New York University College of Dentistry
av244@nyu.edu


Chair-elect
David M. Leader, D.M.D., M.P.H.
Tufts University School of Dental Medicine
David.Leader@tufts.edu


Secretary
Hanann Tomeh, D.D.S.
A.T. Still University Arizona School of Dentistry & Oral Health
htomeh@atsu.edu

 

The ADEA Special Interest Group on Graduate Dental Hygiene Education Programs explores and examines opportunities, challenges and best practices in admissions, recruitment, curricula and scholarship related to graduate dental hygiene education.

Listserv:  gdhedsig@Listserv.adea.org

 

Chair
Joyce Y. Sumi, RDH, M.S.
Herman Ostrow School of Dentistry of USC
jsumi@usc.edu


Chair-Elect
Denise M. Claiborne, Ph.D., RDH
Old Dominion University
dclaibor@odu.edu


Secretary
Linda D. Boyd, RDH, RDN, Ed.D.
Forsyth School of Dental Hygiene, MCPHS University
linda.boyd@mcphs.edu

 

The ADEA Special Interest Group on Implant Dentistry addresses the interests of faculty in the advancement of implant dentistry in the curriculum.

Listserv:  ImDent@Listserv.adea.org

 

Chair
Ekaterina Antonellou, D.D.S.
Tufts University School of Dental Medicine
Ekaterini.Antonellou@tufts.edu


Chair-Elect
Neal Fleisher
Boston University Henry M. Goldman School of Dental Medicine
neefly@bu.edu


Secretary
Pinelopi Pani, D.D.S.
Boston University Henry M. Goldman School of Dental Medicine
ppani@bu.edu

 

The ADEA Special Interest Group on Internationally Educated Oral Health Professionals provides a forum for administrators, staff and faculty involved in the formation, teaching or administration of international dental programs to meet and communicate information and concerns of mutual interest, and to represent, assist and advocate on behalf of our internationally educated colleagues."

Listserv:  IEOHP@listserv.adea.org

 

Chair
Elizabeth Towne, D.D.S.
University of Colorado School of Dental Medicine
beth.towne@ucdenver.edu


Chair-elect        
Luis Yepes, D.D.S.
UT Health San Antonio School of Dentistry
yepes@uthscsa.edu


Secretary
Kadambari Rawal, B.D.S., CAGS, M.S.D., FASGD, FICD
Boston University Henry M. Goldman School of Dental Medicine
KadambariRawal@hsl.harvard.edu

 

ADEA Special Interest Group on Interprofessional Education and Collaborative Care explores and shares resources focused on interprofessional education and laboratory coursework and promotes activities and curricula for dental professionals to collaborate and communicate with other health care professionals to enhance patient safety.

Listserv: ipecc@listserv.adea.org

 

Chair
Melanie E. Mayberry, D.D.S., M.S., HCM
University of Detroit Mercy School of Dentistry
mayberme@udmercy.edu


Chair-Elect
Geralyn (Geri) Crain, D.D.S., Ph.D.       
Roseman University of Health Sciences College of Dental Medicine - South Jordan, Utah
gcrain@roseman.edu


Secretary
Youjin Natalie Jeong, D.M.D., M.A.
Tufts University School of Dental Medicine
natalie.jeong@tufts.edu

 

The ADEA Special Interest Group on Lasers in Dentistry is a forum to explore the safe and effective use of lasers in all areas of dentistry and to help integrate and evaluate the knowledge and skills required to use all laser light technologies and techniques within the dental curriculum and practice.

Listserv:  sig-lid@Listserv.adea.org

 

Chair
Scott D. Benjamin, D.D.S.
University of Rochester Medical Center
SBenjamin@dentalaim.com


Chair-Elect
Preetha P. Kanjirath, B.D.S., M.D.S., M.S.
Midwestern University, College of Dental Medicine-Illinois
pkanji@midwestern.edu              


Secretary
Andrew W. Browar, D.D.S., FACSS, FICD
Midwestern University College of Dental Medicine-Illinois
abrowa@midwestern.edu

 

The ADEA Special Interest Group on Professional, Ethical, and Legal Issues provides a forum for ADEA members to address issues in ethics, professionalism and legal matters in dental education.

Listserv:  lgis@Listserv.adea.org

 

Chair
Lillian Obucina, D.D.S., J.D.
Midwestern University College of Dental Medicine-Illinois
lobucina@gmail.com


Chair-Elect
Carlos S. Smith, D.D.S., M.Div.
Virginia Commonwealth University School of Dentistry
cssmith2@vcu.edu


Secretary
Pamela Jones, Ph.D.
University at Buffalo School of Dental Medicine
pcjones@buffalo.edu

 

The ADEA Special Interest Group on Scholarship of Teaching and Learning is a rich discussion forum that provides members the opportunity to learn and build upon the experiences and knowledge of their teaching peers within an infrastructure to support the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning throughout dental education.

Listserv:  sotlsig@Listserv.adea.org

 

Chair
Pauletta Gay Baughman, D.M.D.              
University of Louisville School of Dentistry
pauletta.baughman@louisville.edu


Chair-Elect
Nancy B. Young, D.M.D., M.Ed.
Dental College of Georgia at Augusta University
nayoung@augusta.edu


Secretary
Tobie A. Jones, D.M.D., M.S.        
Oregon Health & Science University School of Dentistry
jonesto@ohsu.edu

 

The ADEA Special Interest Group on Teaching and Learning with Emerging Technology focuses on the exploration of and use of new and emerging technologies, and their use in dental education teaching and learning.

Listserv:  EmergingTech@Listserv.adea.org

 

Chair
Sang Park, D.D.S., M.M.Sc.
Harvard School of Dental Medicine
sang_park@hsdm.harvard.edu


Chair-Elect
Parvatie Iyer, B.D.S., D.D.S.
University of the Pacific Arthur A. Dugoni School of Dentistry
piyer@pacific.edu


Secretary
Meixun Sinky Zheng, Ph.D.
University of the Pacific Arthur A. Dugoni School of Dentistry
szheng@pacific.edu

 

The ADEA Special Interest Group on Women in Leadership provides a forum for ADEA members interested in advocating for the advancement of women in dental education and gender equity.

Listserv:  WIL@Listserv.adea.org

 

Chair
Lavern J. Holyfield, D.D.S.
Texas A&M College of Dentistry
Lholyfield@tamu.edu


Chair-Elect
Ana Lopez-Fuentes, D.M.D., M.P.H.
University of Puerto Rico School of Dental Medicine
ana.lopez6@upr.edu


Secretary
Elizabeth Andrews, D.D.S. M.S.
Western University of Health Sciences College of Dental Medicine
eandrews@westernu.edu