ADEA Leadership Institute Alumni Association Award to Honor Jack Bresch


This American Dental Education Association (ADEA) Leadership Institute Alumni Association (LIAA) award honors the memory of John Edward “Jack” Bresch and the role he played for ADEA and its members, both in advocacy and leadership.


The ADEA LIAA Award to Honor Jack Bresch will be presented to a current ADEA member who reflects the attitudes, values and behaviors in advocacy of dental care and dental education as exemplified by Jack Bresch.

Eligibility Requirements

An applicant must:

  • Be an active ADEA member.
  • Demonstrate advocacy for dental care and dental education.

Application Deadline

All nominations must be received on or before Monday, Dec. 16, 2019.

Application Process Checklist

The following items must be submitted by email to Eric Lund, ADEA Professional Development Manager, at no later than Dec. 16, 2019.

  • An abbreviated curriculum vitae, including educational background, academic appointments, honors and awards, a list of key publications and a list of career highlights.
  • A personal statement demonstrating the nominee’s advocacy for dental care and dental education.

Self- and peer nominations are encouraged. The nomination committee, chaired by the ADEA LIAA Chair-elect, will review all nominations. A ballot will be sent to the ADEA LIAA Board for final selection of the award recipient


Contact Eric Lund, ADEA Professional Development Manager, at 202-289-7201 or


Notification Date and Award Presentation

The ADEA LIAA Award to Honor Jack Bresch recipient will be notified on or before Feb. 1, 2020, prior to its official announcement during the 2020 ADEA Annual Session & Exhibition, March 16, in National Harbor, MD at the Political Spotlight plenary session. There is no monetary distribution associated with this award.

Past Recipients

Dr. Nicholas DePinto, Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, School of Dental Medicine

Dr. Mary Truhlar, Stony Brook University School of Dental Medicine

Dr. Jeffery Stewart, Oregon Health & Science University School of Dentistry

Dr. Janet Leigh, Louisiana State University Health New Orleans School of Dentistry