Bulletin of Dental Education

Six Resolutions Approved After Special Meeting of ADEA House of Delegates

 Permanent link   All Posts

The ADEA House of Delegates approved six resolutions, including one that establishes a policy that discourages the use of dental school rankings, in the wake of a special June 9 virtual meeting.

The approval of the six resolutions, via electronic voting, follows the earlier approval—during the 2022 ADEA Annual Session & Exhibition in March—of four other resolutions, along with the election of the 2022-23 Chair-elect of the ADEA Board of Directors: Ana N. López-Fuentes, D.M.D., M.P.H., Professor and former Dean of the University of Puerto Rico School of Dental Medicine.

The June 9 House of Delegates meeting was prompted because a quorum was not reached at the March 22 closing session of the House of Delegates, so the six resolutions could not be considered at that time.

The resolution that established an ADEA policy on dental school rankings stemmed from concerns that such rankings could be arbitrary and harmful to the reputations of individual schools, students, alumni and the profession of dentistry as a whole.

Furthermore, the policy states: “Dental schools should be discouraged from using such rankings in student recruitment materials, public communications and alumni publications.”

The six resolutions approved by the House of Delegates are:

  • 5H-2022 ADEA Bylaws Changes to Corporate Membership
  • 6H-2022 ADEA Policy on Dental School Ranking
  • 7H-2022 Special Interest Group on Evidence-based Dentistry Becomes the ADEA Section on Evidence-based Dentistry
  • 8H-2022 ADEA Gay-Straight Alliance Name Change to ADEA PRIDE
  • 9H-2022 Provisional Membership of Ponce Health Sciences University School of Dental Medicine
  • 10H-2022 Provisional Membership of High Point University School of Dental Medicine and Oral Health

For more information about all resolutions, download the 2022 ADEA House of Delegates Manual from the ADEA House of Delegates webpage.

Published on July 13, 2022

Duggan ad 2013