Bulletin of Dental Education

Dr. Jeffery Hicks Elected Chair of CODA

 Permanent link   All Posts

Dr. Jeffrey Hicks CODAJeffery Hicks, D.D.S., has been elected chair of the Commission on Dental Accreditation (CODA) for 2020-2021. Dr. Hicks is a Professor of Comprehensive Dentistry at the UT Health San Antonio School of Dentistry (UT Health SA SOD).

CODA serves the public and profession by developing and implementing accreditation standards that promote and monitor the quality and continuous improvement of dental education programs. The commission employs a collaborative peer review accreditation process to evaluate the quality of more than 1,400 dental and dental-related education programs. Programs accredited include U.S. and international predoctoral dental, advanced and specialty residency programs, clinical fellowships and allied dental programs. 

As Chair, Dr. Hicks will conduct the commission’s annual business and continue to chair the Postdoctoral General Dentistry Review Committee. This review committee’s duties include reviewing accreditation reports and recommending accreditation actions for postdoctoral programs in Advanced General Dentistry, Dental Anesthesiology, Facial Pain, Oral Medicine and General Practice Residency. 

Special needs dentistry
Dr. Hicks also serves as member of the Board of the American Academy of Developmental Medicine and Dentistry (AADMD). AADMD is a non-profit membership organization of interdisciplinary health professionals, including primary care and specialist physicians, dentists, optometrists, nurses and other clinicians committed to improving the quality of health care for people with intellectual and developmental disabilities.

National adviser
Dr. Hicks is currently a member of the Advisory Committee on Training in Primary Care Medicine and Dentistry (ACTPCMD), a Health Resources and Services Administration committee. The committee advises and makes recommendations on policy, program development and other matters of significance concerning the medicine and dentistry activities to the Secretary of the Department of Health and Human Services; the Senate Committee on Health, Education, Labor and Pensions; and the House of Representatives Committee on Energy and Commerce. In addition, ACTPCMD develops, publishes and implements performance measures and longitudinal evaluations for programs under Part C of Title VII of the Public Health Service Act.

Work at UT Health SA SOD
Dr. Hicks has served UT Health SA SOD as grant writer, Interim Associate Dean for Advanced Education, Director of two advanced educational programs and clinics in general and hospital dentistry in the school and at University Hospital. He also serves as Chair of University Hospital’s Department of Hospital Dentistry. During his tenure at UT Health SA SOD, Dr. Hicks has been awarded more than $25M in federal and state funds for its educational programs. 

Dr. Hicks has been awarded fellowships in the American College of Dentists, the National Academies of Practice, the American Dental Education Association’s Leadership Institute and the American Association of Hospital Dentists. Heis board certified in Hospital Dentistry by the Special Care Dentistry Association.

Courtesy of Rosanne Fohn, Public Relations Representative-Lead, UT Health San Antonio 

Published on September 9, 2020

Duggan ad 2013