Bulletin of Dental Education

April 2011 Kudos

(Kudos) Permanent link   All Posts

Indiana University Recognizes Two ADEA Members with Faculty Awards

Steven Blanchard, D.D.S., Associate Professor of Periodontics at Indiana University (IU) School of Dentistry, received the Indiana Dental Association’s Outstanding Teacher of the Year Award in recognition of his accomplishments during the 2009-10 academic year. In 2009, he accepted a six-year term as one of the Directors of the American Board of Periodontology.

Dr. Blanchard has demonstrated an ongoing commitment to providing care for underserved populations, both locally and abroad. Working with an idea originally suggested by dental student Matthew Rowe, now a periodontics graduate student, Dr. Blanchard created an IU School of Dentistry international service-learning program in Comayagua, Honduras, where Dr. Rowe had previously served with dental outreach groups from Fort Wayne, Indiana. Dr. Blanchard mentored his first group of students on a visit in 2009, and in 2010 he returned with his wife, IU dental hygiene Prof. Jane Blanchard, and seven dental students. Together, the 2010 volunteers saw more than 400 patients in need.

Stuart Schrader, Ph.D., a Clinical Assistant Professor of Behavioral Science in Oral Biology at IU, received the Donald W. Johnson Community Service Faculty Award in recognition of several programs and projects he has implemented to increase access to care for underserved populations, most notably the HIV HOPE (Oral Health Patient Engagement) program and Oral Health Care for Cancer Patients (OHCCP).

HIV Hope strives to give IU dental students the tools and information they need in order to provide patients living with HIV/AIDS with care that promotes not only the patient’s oral health but also a healthy patient-practitioner relationship. About a dozen community volunteers who either live with HIV or work in HIV/AIDS care coordination agencies have collaborated with dental faculty to teach students to recognize their own potential stereotypes or concerns about HIV/AIDS patients, and to understand that many such feelings are attributable primarily to a lack of first-hand knowledge about people living with HIV/AIDS. The program won the 2010 Orna Shanley Prize for Enhancing Access to Care, co-sponsored by the American Dental Education Association (ADEA) and the International Federation of Dental Educators and Associations (IFDEA). Dr. Schrader has contributed to advisory groups to address HIV consumer needs in Indiana and elsewhere for nearly two decades.

In 2010, he launched an Oral Health Care for Cancer Patients website, which serves as an educational resource for cancer patients, dentists, and other health care providers involved in the treatment of cancer patients. Other goals of the OHCCP include empowering cancer patients to seek oral health care before, during, and after cancer therapies, and advocating for increased access to oral health care for underserved cancer patients.

2011 ADEA/Sunstar Americas, Inc./Harry W. Bruce, Jr. Legislative Fellow Named

Brooke S. Bodart, RDH, Clinical Lecturer at Indiana University-South Bend, was named the 2011 ADEA/Sunstar Americas, Inc./Harry W. Bruce, Jr. Legislative Fellow at the 2011 ADEA Annual Session & Exhibition.

"This fellowship represents an essential step toward ensuring that dental professionals, dental educators, and legislators are communicating and working together toward policies that have the greatest benefit for patients’ oral health. With the shared goal of improved patient outcomes in mind, Sunstar Americas, Inc. is proud to support ADEA and Prof. Bodart in their continued dedication to building collaboration between policymakers and national leaders in dental education,” said Mr. Jim Doyle, Vice President of U.S. Sales and Trade Marketing at Sunstar Americas, Inc.

This public policy fellow will work for three months as an ADEA staff member within the ADEA Center for Public Policy and Advocacy (ADEA CPPA) on the legislative process as it relates to dental education, dental research, and the oral health of the nation. Based in Washington, DC, Prof. Bodart will work with ADEA CPPA as it advocates for federal student loans, loan repayment and scholarship programs, and access to oral health services. Responsibilities may include drafting policy and educating members of Congress on matters of importance in dental education.

Dr. Lillian Mitchell Named ADEA/Alpha Omega Foundation/Leonard Abrams Scholar

During the 2011 ADEA Annual Session & Exhibition in San Diego, California, Dr. Lillian M. Mitchell was named the 2011 ADEA/Alpha Omega Foundation/Leonard Abrams Scholar in the ADEA Leadership Institute.

The Leonard Abrams Scholar receives an award in the amount of $20,000 that allows him or her to participate in the ADEA Leadership Institute, a year-long program designed to develop the nation’s most promising dental faculty to become leaders in dental and higher education.

“Dr. Mitchell has shown great leadership and foresight in her work to bring together dental students and internal medicine residents in treating older adults at the University of Alabama at Birmingham,” said ADEA President Sandra C. Andrieu, M.Ed., Ph.D. “The collaboration between ADEA and the Alpha Omega Foundation will give Lillian the opportunity to advance her considerable leadership skills.”

Dr. Mitchell is Director of Fixed Prosthodontics and Assistant Professor at the University of Alabama at Birmingham School of Dentistry. She is a graduate of Georgetown University School of Dentistry and Diplomate of the American Board of Prosthodontics.

The scholarship is named in honor of the late Dr. Leonard Abrams, an internationally recognized educator and researcher in periodontology and prosthodontics. It recognizes an individual who exhibits excellence in teaching and compassion toward his fellow human beings and who upholds exemplary ethical and professional standards.

Dr. Luisa DiPietro Receives AADR Faculty Mentor Award

Luisa A. DiPietro, D.D.S., Ph.D., a Professor of Periodontics and Director of the Center for Wound Repair and Regeneration at the University of Illinois at Chicago College of Dentistry, has been selected by the American Association of Dental Research (AADR) National Student Research Group as the recipient of its Faculty Mentor Award.

The award was established in 1997 to provide national recognition for outstanding faculty mentors. Each nominee needs to have experience in research, must show support for student research, and is nominated by a student or students.

Dr. DiPietro currently serves as the primary research mentor for one undergraduate student, one medical student, one Ph.D. student, two D.D.S./Ph.D. students, one master’s degree student, and three postdoctoral fellows. She is also a secondary mentor for many additional students.

Duggan ad 2013