ADEA Enid A. Neidle Scholar-in-Residence Program

This Scholar-in-Residence Program honors Enid A. Neidle, former President of ADEA (1985-86). Under her leadership, ADEA adopted its policy of promoting the advancement of women in dental education. The program offers a unique opportunity for a dental educator to concentrate on issues affecting women faculty. 


The scholar receives a stipend up to $15,000 to pursue a cumulative two to three-month fellowship at the ADEA Office in Washington, DC. The scholar’s institution continues to provide salary and fringe benefits for the duration of the experience. While in Washington, DC, the scholar will gain a distinct perspective on issues facing women faculty, including promotion, advancement and tenure policies, entry and re-entry into the workforce, child care and elder care, women’s health, work patterns, advanced education and research opportunities and other gender-related issues. The scholar will be assigned to a senior ADEA staff member and will be involved in a range of ADEA activities in addition to her principal project. ADEA will be flexible in the arrangement of time away from the scholar’s institution.

Eligibility Requirements
An applicant must:
  • Be full-time female faculty with a primary teaching appointment in a predoctoral or advanced dental educational program at an ADEA Member Institution (women junior dental and dental hygiene faculty members are encouraged to apply).
  • Be an ADEA Individual Member.
Application Deadline
All applications must be postmarked by November 1, 2016. Applications will be returned if they are either incomplete or postmarked after November 1, 2016.

Return applications to:

Enid A. Neidle Scholar-in-Residence Program for Women
Attn: Dr. Denice Stewart 
655 K Street NW, Suite 800
Washington, DC 20001

Application Process Checklist
Submit TWO copies of the following documents by November 1, 2016:
  • The completed application form.PDF
  • A personal statement addressing the following questions:
    • What are the applicant’s general interests and expectations for the ADEA residency experience?
    • How will this experience help the applicant in her personal development?
    • How will this experience help the applicant’s institution, ADEA, and its membership?
  • A one-page summary that describes the proposed project (including project title).
  • A letter of recommendation from the applicant’s dean specifying how the fellowship would benefit the institution and the applicant and agreeing to pay her salary and fringe benefits for the duration of the ADEA residency experience.
  • A current curriculum vitae and a one-page summary highlighting experiences relevant to the program.
  • A formal letter of support from an individual who will serve as a mentor and provide additional support to the applicant.
Please contact Dr. Denice Stewart at 202-289-7201, ext. 153, or with any questions.

Notification Date and Award Announcement

Applicants for the Enid A. Neidle Scholar-in-Residence Program will receive a telephone interview in January, prior to the 2017 ADEA Annual Session & Exhibition, March 18–21, 2017 in Long Beach, CA.

Past Recipients

Dr. M. Nathalia Garcia, Southern Illinois University School of Dental Medicine


Mary McNally, M.S., D.D.S., M.A., Dalhousie University Faculty of Dentistry


Dr. Rhonda Everett, University of Nevada Las Vegas School of Dental Medicine


Dr. Ethel Harris, Meharry Medical College School of Dentistry

Dr. Rosalia Rey, University of Florida

Dr. Elena Nazarova, University of Connecticut

Prof. Machelle Thompson, Meharry Medical College

Prof. Sandra Osborne, Howard University

Dr. Karin Quick, University of Minnesota

Dr. Yoly Gonzalez-Stucker, University at Buffalo

Dr. Georgia Dounis, University of Nevada, Las Vegas

Dr. Donna Grant-Mills, Howard University

Dr. Mildred McClain, University of Nevada, Las Vegas

Prof. R. Denise Howe, Columbia University

Dr. Wendy Hupp, Nova Southeastern University

Dr. Mary Lynn Froeschle, University of Nebraska Medical Center

Dr. Nina Markovic, University of Pittsburgh

Dr. Paula Nesbitt, Meharry Medical College

Dr. Emrey Moskowitz, Boston University

Dr. Vicky Evangelidis-Sakellson, Columbia University

Dr. Deborah Studen-Pavlovich, University of Pittsburgh

Dr. Susan Silverton, University of Pennsylvania

Dr. Linda Wells, Baylor College of Dentistry

Dr. Kerry Maguire, University of Colorado Denver