2014 ADEA/Colgate-Palmolive Co. Excellence in Teaching Award


The American Dental Education Association (ADEA)/Colgate-Palmolive Co. Excellence in Teaching Award recognizes dental educators who demonstrate exemplary standards and promote excellence in dental education through scholarship and innovation. The award is ultimately aimed at enriching educational experiences by generating intellectual excitement within dental institutions and programs. This commitment to excellence and the scholarship of teaching and learning may be demonstrated in any dental instructional setting, including classroom or laboratory instruction, clinical teaching or preceptorships, research and instructional mentoring, continuing education, community-based instructional settings, or electronically mediated teaching and learning experiences.


The ADEA Council of Faculties views this award as highly prestigious. To ensure the excellence and continuity of the award, the ADEA Council of Faculties strongly recommends the recipient maintain a high profile in teaching excellence within his or her school or program and at nationally recognized educational forums. The recipient should also be actively involved in the identification of future nominees. The recipient will receive a $2,500 award to be used only to enhance his or her teaching efforts. The stipend will also be used for travel to the 2014 ADEA Annual Session & Exhibition in San Antonio, Texas, March 15-18, 2014. The recipient of the award is expected to share his or her expertise with ADEA members during an appropriate venue at a future ADEA Annual Session & Exhibition.

Eligibility Requirements

Applicants are to be identified and recognized initially within individual institutions or programs of dental education. Ideally, identification, review, and recognition of the candidates will be coordinated by a team consisting of:

  • an ADEA Council of Faculties representative
  • the dean, academic dean, or director of the institution
  • a peer teaching professional
  • the appropriate student or alumni representative

Nominations are to be forwarded by the dean or director of the institution. General characteristics and identifiers of excellence in teaching include the following:

  • General Characteristics
    • commitment to principles of lifelong learning
    • demonstrated creativity in curriculum design or innovation in the delivery of education to students
    • motivation of students to study and master subject matter or clinical competency
    • regarded by peers as an excellent educator
    • exemplary mentoring skills
    • student-centered approach that shows concern for growth and development
    • identifiable impact on student learning
  • Teaching Excellence Identifiers
    • performance evaluations conducted by peers and students
    • application of the philosophy of the scholarship of teaching and learning
    • development of innovative teaching and learning strategies or technologies
    • continuous improvement of courses
    • articles, invited presentations, or workshops on teaching strategies and effectiveness
  • Excellence in Clinical Instruction
    • provides thorough orientation for the students in their clinical experiences
    • discusses scientific underpinnings for patient management protocols
    • cultivates students’ analytical abilities and judgment skills
    • integrates textbooks and didactic learning into clinical encounters

An applicant must demonstrate excellence in teaching students, hold a full-time predoctoral or postdoctoral faculty appointment at an ADEA Member Institution, and be an ADEA Individual Member.

Application Deadline

All applications must be received on or before November 18, 2013.

Application Process Checklist

Using the ADEA online application process, applicants must submit on or before November 18, 2013:

  • An abbreviated curriculum vitae including:
    • name, mailing address, telephone and fax numbers, and email address
    • title and academic rank
    • employer
    • years of experience
    • current academic appointment
    • previous academic appointment(s)
    • educational background (area of study, schools and programs attended, and graduation dates)
    • other training or education (fellowships, residencies, courses, and completion dates)
    • teaching accomplishments, honors, and awards
  • An optional listing of key publications and presentations, not to exceed one page
  • A listing of career highlights, not to exceed one page
  • A composite letter of nomination to be prepared by the dean in conjunction with the academic dean or director of the institution, the ADEA Council of Faculties institutional representative, a peer professional, and a student or alumni representative. The letter should detail the applicant’s contribution to the scholarship of teaching and learning and describe the reasons the nominee should receive the award. This composite letter must identify the nominee’s past recognition and summarize the most recent course evaluations.
  • A personal statement outlining:
    • the applicant’s educational development, self-learning, growth in teaching, and goals
    • the applicant’s philosophy of teaching and ways he or she has contributed to the student learning experience
    • how the award will be used to advance the scholarship of teaching and learning

The completed application must be signed by one of the following:

  • dental school dean
  • program director


Contact Mr. Eric Lund, ADEA Professional Development Manager, at 202-289-7201 or lunde@adea.org with any questions.

Notification Date and Award Announcement

The recipient of the scholarship was notified on or before February 1, 2014. The award was announced in a ceremony during the 2014 ADEA Annual Session & Exhibition in San Antonio, Texas, March 15-18, 2014.

Past Recipients


Dr. Mark Fitzgerald, University of Michigan School of Dentistry


Dr. H. Wayne Lambert, West Virginia University


Dr. Ranier M. Adarve, University of Minnesota School of Dentistry


Dr. Bob Hutchins, Baylor College of Dentistry


Dr. Andrew I. Spielman, New York University


Dr. Prenprapa S. Klinkachorn, West Virginia University


Dr. Mildred McClain, University of Nevada, Las Vegas


Dr. Neil Norton, Creighton University


Dr. George Gallagher, Boston University


Dr. Stephen Bayne, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill


Dr. Chris Rice, University of Missouri-Kansas City


Prof. Marsha Cunningham, University of Iowa


Dr. Charles Shuler, University of Southern California


Dr. Louis Abbey, Virginia Commonwealth University