ADEA/Colgate-Palmolive Co. Allied Dental Educators Fellowship

The American Dental Education Association (ADEA)/Colgate-Palmolive Co. Allied Dental Educators Fellowship promotes leadership development of faculty members in allied dental education. This fellowship provides the opportunity for an allied dental educator to focus on a broad range of issues affecting allied dental education, such as, but not limited to, policy, research, budget and finance, faculty development and advancement, legislation and gender and workforce issues. 


This fellowship provides support to participate in one of two opportunities which are available during alternate years: 

  • This Year: During odd years (2017, 2019, 2021…)—if accepted to participate in the ADEA Allied Dental Faculty Leadership Development Program (ADEA ADFLDP), two recipients will be awarded a fellowship of $2,000 for tuition, travel and fees associated with the ADEA ADFLDP. To qualify to attend the ADEA ADFLDP, applicants must complete the application process and have the full support of their dean or program director.    
  • During even years (2018, 2020, 2022…)—one recipient will spend the fellowship at the ADEA office. The fellow receives a stipend of $4,000 to cover travel and expenses for the cumulative three-month experience in Washington, DC. The fellow’s institution continues to provide salary support for the duration of the experience. While working with ADEA staff during even years, the fellow will work on issues such as:
    • Faculty recruitment, development and retention.
    • Leadership development.
    • Teaching strategies.
    • Competencies and their assessment.
    • Accreditation and licensure.
    Each applicant should have a specific project in mind that he or she would like to pursue. The fellow’s outlined project, interest and talents will be considered during the selection process. ADEA will be flexible in the arrangement of time away from the fellow’s institution.  

Eligibility Requirements

An applicant must:
  • Have at least five years of experience as an allied dental faculty member.
  • Demonstrate strong leadership qualities and interest in allied dental education, administration or higher education administration.
  • Hold a full-time allied dental faculty appointment at an ADEA Member Institution.
  • Be an ADEA Individual Member.
Application Deadline
All applications must be received on or before November 1, 2016.  

Application Process Checklist

ADEA Allied Dental Faculty Development Leadership Program applicants must submit the following in addition to their ADEA ADFLDP application: 

  • A summary describing how the fellowship would benefit the institution and the applicant and outlining the kind of experience the applicant anticipates as a fellow;
  • One letter of recommendation from a professional colleague.
ADEA Fellowship applicants must submit the following using the ADEA online application system to be made available in early August.
  • A letter of recommendation from the applicant’s dean or program director specifying how the fellowship would benefit the institution and the applicant and agreeing to pay his or her salary and fringe benefits for the duration of the fellowship;
  • A summary of a project or activity the applicant wishes to pursue with ADEA as a part of this fellowship;
  • A current curriculum vitae with a summary describing how the fellowship would benefit the institution and the applicant and outlining the kind of experience the applicant anticipates as a fellow;
  • Two letters of recommendation from professional colleagues.                  

Contact Mr. Eric Lund, ADEA Professional Development Manager, at 202-289-7201 or with questions.

Notification Date and Award Announcement

Scholarship recipients and applicants not receiving awards will be notified by February 1, 2017. The award will be announced during the 2017 ADEA Annual Session & Exhibition in Long Beach, CA, March 18–21, 2017.

Past Recipients

Prof. Rebecca Stolberg, Eastern Washington University


Prof. Janet Kinney, University of Michigan School of Dentistry


Prof. Rachel Henry, The Ohio State University College of Dentistry

Dr. Donna F. Homenko, Cuyahoga Community College

Prof. Donna P. Warren-Morris, The University of Texas School of Dentistry at Houston

Prof. Suzanne K. Farrar, Louisiana State University Health New Orleans School of Dentistry

Prof. Joycelyn A. Dillon, New York City College of Technology

Prof. Deborah J. Horlak, University of the Pacific Arthur A. Dugoni School of Dentistry

Prof. Lorie Holt, University of Missouri - Kansas City School of Dentistry

Prof. Susan Duley, Clayton State University
Prof. Rebecca Wilder, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Dentistry

Dr. Cynthia Gadbury-Amyot, University of Missouri - Kansas City School of Dentistry

Prof. Josette L. Beach, Portland (Oregon) Community College

Prof. Terri Tillis, The University of Colorado School of Dental Medicine

Prof. Patricia Nunn, University of Oklahoma College of Dentistry

Dr. Jane Forrest, Ostrow School of Dentistry of the University of Southern California

Prof. Donna Kotyk, Salish Kootenai College

Prof. Cheryl Westphal, New York University College of Dentistry

Prof. Durinda J. Mattana, University of Detroit Mercy School of Dentistry

Prof. Marie Varley Gillis, Howard University College of Dentistry