2015 – 2016 ADEA Council of Sections Officers

Academic Affairs

Councilor
Nader A. Nadershahi, M.B.A., D.D.S., Ed.D.
University of the Pacific, Arthur A. Dugoni School of Dentistry
nnadershahi@pacific.edu

Chair
Andrew I. Spielman, D.M.D., Ph.D.
New York University College of Dentistry
andrew.spielman@nyu.edu

Chair-elect
Robert M. Trombley, D.D.S., J.D.
University of Detroit Mercy School of Dentistry post
tromblrm@udmercy.edu

Secretary
Carol Anne Murdoch-Kinch, D.D.S., Ph.D., FDS, RCDS (Ed)
University of Michigan School of Dentistry
camurdoc@umich.edu

Anatomical Sciences

Councilor
Alison F. Doubleday, Ph.D.
University of Illinois at Chicago College of Dentistry
adouble@uic.edu

Chair
Laura C. Barritt, Ph.D.
Creighton University School of Dentistry
lbarritt@creighton.edu

Chair-elect
Anita Joy, Ph.D.
Southern Illinois University School of Dental Medicine
ajoy@siue.edu

Secretary
Cameron B. Jeter, Ph.D.
The University of Texas School of Dentistry at Houston
cameron.b.jeter@uth.tmc.edu

Behavioral Sciences

Councilor
Stuart Schrader, Ph.D., M.S.W.
Indiana University School of Dentistry
sschrade@iupui.edu

Chair
Vacant

Chair-elect
Sheela Raja, Ph.D.
University of Illinois at Chicago College of Dentistry
sraja1@uic.edu

Secretary
Vacant

Biochemistry, Nutrition, and Microbiology

Councilor
Carole A. Palmer, Ed.D.
Tufts University School of Dental Medicine
carole.palmer@tufts.edu

Chair
Lancelot S. McLean, Ph.D.
Loma Linda University School of Dentistry
lmclean@llu.edu

Chair-elect
Laura M. Romito, D.D.S., M.S.
Indiana University School of Dentistry
lromitoc@iu.edu

Secretary
Michael Schmidt, Ph.D.
Medical University of South Carolina
James B. Edwards College of Dental Medicine
schmidtm@musc.edu

Business and Financial Administration

Councilor
Eileen J. McIlhagga, M.B.A.
University at Buffalo School of Dental Medicine
eileenc@buffalo.edu

Chair
David George, D.D.S., M.B.A., FAGD
University of Maryland School of Dentistry
dgeorge@umaryland.edu

Chair-elect
Jeffrey L. Primos, M.B.A.
University of Missouri - Kansas City School of Dentistry
primosj@umkc.edu

Secretary  
Gail Parrigin-Clark, M.B.A.
Texas A&M University Baylor College of Dentistry
GParrigin@bcd.tamhsc.edu

Cariology

Councilor
Margherita Fontana, D.D.S., Ph.D.
University of Michigan School of Dentistry
mfontan@umich.edu

Chair
Andrew Schenkel, D.M.D., M.S.
New York University College of Dentistry
andrew.schenkel@nyu.edu

Chair-elect
Aaron M. Soeprono, D.D.S.
New York University College of Dentistry
ams39@nyu.edu

Secretary
Douglas Young, D.D.S., M.B.A., M.S., Ed.D.
University of the Pacific, Arthur A. Dugoni School of Dentistry
dyoung@pacific.edu

Clinic Administration

Councilor
Denice Stewart, D.D.S., M.H.S.A.
Oregon Health & Science University School of Dentistry
stewarde@ohsu.edu

Chair
Richard Callan, D.M.D.
Georgia Regents University College of Dental Medicine
rcallan@gru.edu

Chair-elect
David Lazarchik, D.M.D.
Western University of Health Sciences College of Dental Medicine
dlazarchik@western.edu

Secretary
John McIntosh, M.P.A.
New York University College of Dentistry
john.mcintosh@nyu.edu

Clinical Simulation

Councilor
Josephine Lomangino-Cheung D.D.S.,M.S.
New York University College of Dentistry
jl71@nyu.edu

Chair
Peter Mychajliw, D.D.S.
New York University College of Dentistry
pam2019@nyu.edu

Chair-elect
Kenneth L. Allen, D.D.S., M.B.A.
New York University College of Dentistry
kenneth.allen@nyu.edu

Secretary
Sandra Farah-Franco, D.D.S.
Western University of Health Sciences College of Dental Medicine
sfarah-franco@westernu.edu

Community and Preventive Dentistry

Councilor
Christine E. Miller, RDH, M.H.S., M.A.
University of the Pacific, Arthur A. Dugoni School of Dentistry
cmiller@pacific.edu

Chair
Karen M. Yoder, Ph.D., M.S.D.
Indiana University School of Dentistry
kmyoder@iu.edu

Chair-elect
Diane Brunson, RDH, M.P.H.
The University of Colorado School of Dental Medicine
diane.brunson@ucdenver.edu

Secretary
Lewis Lampiris, D.D.S., M.P.H.
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Dentistry
lewis_lampiris@unc.edu

Comprehensive Care and General Dentistry

Councilor
Joseph W. Parkinson, D.D.S.
University of Kentucky College of Dentistry
joseph.parkinson@uky.edu

Chair
Cheryl Straub-Morarend, D.D.S.
The University of Iowa College of Dentistry & Dental Clinics
Cheryl-morarend@uiowa.edu

Chair-elect
Adriana Vargas Green, D.D.S.
University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio School of Dentistry
greenav@uthscsa.edu

Secretary
Robert Taylor, D.M.D.
University of Kentucky College of Dentistry
robbie.taylor@uky.edu

Continuing Education

Councilor
Penni M. Ryan, BLS, CPP
The University of Iowa College of Dentistry & Dental Clinics
penni-ryan@uiowa.edu

Chair
Melissa Welsh, CPP
Columbia University College of Dental Medicine
mmw7@cumc.columbia.edu

Chair-elect
Barry Hammond, D.M.D.
Georgia Regents University College of Dental Medicine
bhammond@gru.edu

Secretary
Samuel Ruth, M.S.
Tufts University School of Dental Medicine
samuel.ruth@tufts.edu

Dental Anatomy and Occlusion

Councilor
Richard White, D.D.S.
University of the Pacific, Arthur A. Dugoni School of Dentistry
rwhite@pacific.edu

Chair
Natalia Restrepo-Kennedy, D.D.S., M.S.
The University of Iowa College of Dentistry & Dental Clinics
natalia-restrepokennedy@uiowa.edu

Chair-elect
Deise Oliveira, D.D.S., M.S., M.S.
University of Detroit Mercy School of Dentistry
dliveide@udmercy.edu

Secretary
Katie Dinh, D.M.D.
Lake Erie College of Osteophathic Medicine School of Dental Medicine
kdinh@lecom.edu

Dental Assisting Education

Councilor
Patricia A. Capps, CDA, RDH, M.S.
Indiana University School of Dentistry
paacapps@iupui.edu

Chair
Joyce Yamada, CDA, RDH, M.S.
University of Hawaii Maui College
yamadajo@hawaii.edu

Chair-elect
Cynthia Lambert, CDA, RDH, M.S.
Central Carolina Community College
clambert1@northstate.net

Secretary
Constance Reed, CDA, M.S.
Hillsborough Community College
Creed17@hccfl.edu

Dental Hygiene Education

Councilor
Lorinda L. Coan, RDH, M.S.
University of Southern Indiana
llcoan@usi.edu

Chair
Lorene Belows
University of Manitoba Faculty of Dentistry
lorene.belows@umanitoba.ca

Chair-elect
Jennifer K. Bartek, LDH, M.S., CDA
University of Southern Indiana
jkbartek@usi.edu

Secretary
Cyndee Stull, M.D.H.                                                                                               
University of Minnesota School of Dentistry 
stul0045@umn.edu

Dental Informatics

Councilor
Gary Guest, D.D.S.
University of Texas Health Science Center San Antonio School of Dentistry
guestg@uthscsa.edu

Chair
Heiko Spallek, D.M.D., Ph.D.
University of Pittsburgh School of Dental Medicine
hspallek@pitt.edu

Chair-elect
Ana Neumann, D.D.S., M.P.H., Ph.D.
The University of Texas Health School of Dentistry at Houston
ana.neumann@uth.tmc.edu

Secretary
Tofool Alghanem, B.D.S., M.S., D.M.D.
Tufts University School of Dental Medicine
Tofool.alghanem@tufts.edu

Dental School Admissions Officers

Councilor
Venita J. Sposetti, D.M.D.
University of Florida College of Dentistry
sposetti@dental.ufl.edu

Chair
Annette M. McMurry, J.D.
The Ohio State University College of Dentistry
mcmurry.7@osu.edu

Chair-elect
Pamela Sandow, D.M.D.
University of Florida College of Dentistry
psandow@dental.ufl.edu

Secretary
Brian Sherman
Case Western Reserve University School of Dental Medicine
Brian.sherman@case.edu

Development, Alumni Affairs, and Public Relations

Councilor
William O. Butler, M.S.
University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio
butlerw@uthscsa.edu

Chair
Kristen Ward
East Carolina University School of Dental Medicine
wardk@ecu.edu

Chair-elect
Sara Piety
University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio School of Dentistry
piety@uthscsa.edu

Secretary
Elizabeth K. “Beth” Wilson, M.S.
The University of Texas School of Dentistry at Houston
Elizabeth.k.wilson@uth.tmc.edu

Educational Research, Development, and Curriculum

Councilor
Maureen McAndrew, D.D.S., M.S.Ed.
New York University College of Dentistry
mm154@nyu.edu

Chair
Judith Skelton, M.Ed., Ph.D.
University of Nevada, Las Vegas, School of Dental Medicine
judith.skelton@sdm.unlv.edu

Chair-elect
Roseanna Graham, D.D.S., M.A., Ph.D.
Columbia University College of Dental Medicine
rg2032@columbia.edu

Secretary
Clark Dana, D.D.S.
Roseman University of Health Sciences College of Dental Medicine – South Jordan, Utah
cdana@roseman.edu

Endodontics

Councilor
Laurie Fleisher, D.M.D.
New York University College of Dental Medicine
Lf61@nyu.edu

Chair
Mary Pettiette, D.D.S.
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Dentistry
mary_pettiette@dentistry.unc.edu

Chair-elect
Rene Chu, D.M.D., M.S.
University of Manitoba Faculty of Dentistry
Rene.chu@umanitoba.ca

Secretary
Kayla Tavares, D.D.S.
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, School of Dental Medicine
kaylatav@live.com

Gay-Straight Alliance

Councilor
Frederick G. More, D.D.S., M.S.
New York University College of Dentistry
frederick.more@nyu.edu

Chair
Colleen D. Kuxhaus, RDH, B.S., M.A.
University of Detroit Mercy School of Dentistry
kuxhaucd@udmercy.edu

Chair-elect
Joan Lewis, D.D.S., M.S.
University of Detroit Mercy School of Dentistry
lewisjm5@udmercy.edu

Secretary
Herminio Perez, D.M.D., M.B.A.
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, School of Dental Medicine
Hlp21@sdm.rutgers.edu

Gerontology and Geriatrics Education

Councilor
Laura Kaufman, D.M.D.
Boston University Henry M. Goldman School of Dental Medicine
laura.kaufman@bmc.org

Chair
Becky Smith, D.D.S.
University of Missouri - Kansas City School of Dentistry
smithbeck@umkc.edu

Chair-elect
Leonardo Marchini, D.D.S., M.S.D., Ph.D.
The University of Iowa College of Dentistry & Dental Clinics
leonardo-marchini@uiowa.edu

Secretary
Annetty P. Soto, D.M.D.
Boston University Henry M. Goldman School of Dental Medicine
apsoto@bu.edu

Graduate and Postgraduate Education

Councilor
James Winkler, D.D.S., Ph.D.
University of Detroit Mercy School of Dentistry
winklerj@udmercy.edu

Chair
Darryl Hamamoto, Ph.D., D.D.S.
The Ohio State University College of Dentistry 
hamamoto.4@osu.edu

Chair-elect
Shyam Prasad Aravindaksha, B.D.S., M.D.S., PGDMLS
University of Detroit Mercy School of Dentistry
aravinsp@udmercy.edu

Secretary
Vacant

Minority Affairs

Councilor
Mildred A. McClain, Ph.D.
University of Nevada, Las Vegas, School of Dental Medicine
millie.mcclain@unlv.edu

Chair
Eugenia Mejia, Ph.D., M.A., M.Ed.
New York University College of Dentistry
eem1@nyu.edu

Chair-elect
Deirdre Young, D.D.S.
University of Detroit Mercy School of Dentistry
youngdd@udmercy.edu

Secretary
Gerald Davis II, D.D.S.
Meharry Medical College School of Dentistry
geralddavis@gmail.com

Operative Dentistry and Biomaterials

Councilor
Derek R. Williams, D.D.S.
University of Missouri - Kansas City School of Dentistry
williamsdere@umkc.edu

Chair
Eric D. Levine, D.D.S.
University of Maryland School of Dentistry
elevine@umaryland.edu

Chair-elect
Juliana Da Costa, D.D.S., M.S.
Oregon Health & Science University School of Dentistry
dacostaj@ohsu.edu

Secretary
So Ran Kwon, D.D.S., M.S., Ph.D.
The University of Iowa College of Dentistry & Dental Clinics
soran-kwon@uiowa.edu

Oral Biology

Councilor
Steven London, D.D.S., Ph.D.
Stony Brook University School of Dental Medicine
Steven.london@stonybrookmedicine.edu

Chair
James Borke, M.S., Ph.D.
Western University of Health Sciences College of Dental Medicine
jborke@westernu.edu

Chair-elect
Asha Eaper, Ph.D.
Southern Illinois University School of Dental Medicine
aeaper@siue.edu

Secretary
Larry D. Crouch, Ph.D.
University of Nebraska Medical Center College of Dentistry
lcrouch@umnc.edu

Oral Diagnosis and Oral Medicine

Councilor
Shawn Adibi, D.D.S., M.Ed.
The University of Texas School of Dentistry at Houston
shawn.adibi@uth.tmc.edu

Chair
Takako I. Tanaka, D.D.S., FDS RCSEd.
University of Detroit Mercy School of Dentistry
tanakata@udmercy.edu

Chair-elect
Rajesh V. Lalla, D.D.S., Ph.D.
University of Connecticut School of Dental Medicine
lalla@uchc.edu

Secretary
Gargi Mukhergi, D.D.S.      
The University of Texas School of Dentistry at Houston
gargi.mukherji@uth.tmc.edu

Oral and Maxillofacial Pathology

Councilor
Alice Curran, D.M.D., M.S.
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Dentistry
alice_curran@unc.edu

Chair
Yeshwant B. Rawal, B.D.S., M.D.S., M.S.
University of Tennessee Health Science Center College of Dentistry
yrawal@uthsc.edu

Chair-elect
Tanya M. Gibson, D.D.S.
University of Missouri - Kansas City School of Dentistry
gibsontm@umkc.edu

Secretary
Sonal Shah, D.D.S.
New York University College of Dentistry
Sss9@nyu.edu

Oral and Maxillofacial Radiology

Councilor
Anitha Potluri, B.D.S., D.M.D., M.D.Sc.
University of Pittsburgh School of Dental Medicine
anp60@pitt.edu

Chair
Aditya Tadinada, B.D.S., M.D.Sc.
University of Connecticut School of Dental Medicine
tadinada@uchc.edu

Chair-elect
Angela Broome, D.D.S., M.S.
East Carolina University School of Dental Medicine
broomean@ecu.edu

Secretary
Sajitha Kalathingal, B.D.S., M.S.
Georgia Regents University College of Dental Medicine
skalathingal@gru.edu

Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, Anesthesia and Hospital Dentistry

Councilor
Pamela J. Hughes, D.D.S.
Oregon Health & Science University School of Dentistry
hughesp@ohsu.edu

Chair
Faisal Quereshy, M.D., D.D.S.
Case Western Reserve University School of Dental Medicine
faq@case.edu

Chair-elect
Anders Nattestad, Ph.D., D.D.S.
University of the Pacific Arthur A. Dugoni School of Dentistry
anattestad@pacific.edu

Secretary
Richard D’Innocenzo, D.M.D.
Boston University Henry M. Goldman School of Dental Medicine
rdinno@bu.edu

Orthodontics

Councilor
Mitchell J. Lipp, D.D.S.
New York University College of Dentistry
mitchell.lipp@nyu.edu

Chair
Van Wallace McCarlie, D.M.D., Ph.D.
East Carolina University School of Dental Medicine
mccarlievw@ecu.edu

Chair-elect
Edmund Khoo, D.M.D.
New York University College of Dentistry
ek1127@nyu.edu

Secretary
Wendy Chu, D.M.D., M.Sc.
Roseman University of Health Sciences College of Dental Medicine – South Jordan, Utah
wchu@roseman.edu

Pediatric Dentistry

Councilor
Sahar Alrayyes, D.D.S., M.S.
University of Illinois at Chicago College of Dentistry
salray1@uic.edu

Chair
Larry Salzmann, D.D.S.
University of Illinois at Chicago College of Dentistry
lbs@uic.edu

Chair-elect
Janice Townsend, D.D.S., M.S.
Louisiana State University Health New Orleans School of Dentistry
jtown2@lsuhsc.edu

Secretary
Tawana K. Ware, D.D.S., M.S.P.
Indiana University School of Dentistry
tklee@iu.edu

Periodontics

Councilor
Peter M. Loomer, D.D.S., Ph.D.
New York University College of Dentistry
peter.loomer@nyu.edu

Chair 
Leena Palomo, D.D.S., M.S.D
Case Western Reserve University School of Dental Medicine
leena.palomo@case.edu

Chair-elect
Harlan Shiau, D.D.S., D.M.Sc.
University of Maryland School of Dentistry
hshiau@umaryland.edu

Secretary 
Vera Tang, D.D.S., M.S.
New York University College of Dentistry
Vera.tang@nyu.edu

Physiology, Pharmacology, and Therapeutics

Councilor
Ted D. Pate, Ph.D., M.S.
The University of Texas School of Dentistry at Houston
ted.d.pate@uth.tmc.edu

Chair  
Darren M. Roesch, Ph.D. 
Texas A&M University Baylor College of Dentistry 
roesch@bcd.tamhsc.edu

Chair-elect
Dharini van der Hoeven, Ph.D.
The University of Texas School of Dentistry at Houston
Dharini.vanderHoeven@uth.tmc.edu

Secretary
Bruce D. Gitter, Ph.D.
Indiana University School of Dentistry
bdgitter@iupui.edu

Postdoctoral General Dentistry

Councilor
Lt. Col. Sheryl Kane, D.D.S.
U.S. Air Force
sheryllkane@gmail.com

Chair
Brian K. Singletary, D.M.D., M.S.
University of Minnesota School of Dentistry
singl069@umn.edu

Chair-elect
Barbara MacNeill, D.M.D., M.S.
University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio School of Dentistry
macneill@uthscsa.edu

Secretary
Michael D. Webb, D.D.S.
University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio
webbsite98@hotmail.com

Practice Management

Councilor
Brian Lange, Ph.D.
University of Nebraska Medical Center College of Dentistry
blange@unmc.edu

Chair
John N. Williams, D.M.D., M.B.A.
Indiana University School of Dentistry
jwill01@iupui.edu

Chair-elect
Vacant

Secretary
Andrew G. Schwartz, D.D.S.
Stony Brook University School of Dental Medicine
andrew.schwartz@stonybrookmedicine.edu

Prosthodontics

Councilor 
Igor Pesun, D.M.D., M.Sc., FACP, FRCD(C)
University of Manitoba Faculty of Dentistry
igor.pesun@umanitoba.ca

Chair 
Carlos H. Barrero, D.D.S., M.S.
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Dentistry
carlos_barrero@unc.edu

Chair-elect 
John Won, D.D.S., M.S., FACP
Loma Linda University School of Dentistry
jwon@llu.edu

Secretary 
Alfredo Hernandez, D.D.S., M.S.
Case Western Reserve University School of Dental Medicine
alfredo.hernandez@case.edu

Student Affairs, Financial Aid

Councilor
Phil Pierpont, D.D.S.
The University of Texas School of Dentistry at Houston
hugh.p.pierpont@uth.tmc.edu

Chair
Patricia Xirau-Probert, Ph.D.
University of Florida College of Dentistry
pprobert@dental.ufl.edu

Chair-elect
Laureen Zubiarre Bitzer, D.M.D., M.S.
Columbia University College of Dental Medicine
laz1@columbia.edu

Secretary
Staci Ripkey, Ed.M., M.A.
New York University College of Dentistry
Staci.ripkey@nyu.edu

Substance Abuse, Addiction and Tobacco Dependence Education

Councilor
Joan Davis, Ph.D., RDH
Southern Illinois University School of Dental Medicine
davisdh@siu.edu

Chair
Jill Loewen, RDA, M.S., CTTS                                   
University of Detroit Mercy School of Dentistry
loewenjm@udmercy.edu

Chair-elect
Victoria Patrounova, RDH, M.S.
The University of Texas School of Dentistry at Houston
victoria.v.patrounova@uth.tmc.edu

Secretary
Donna Warren, M.Ed., RDH
The University of Texas School of Dentistry at Houston
donna.p.warren@uth.tmc.edu