ADEA Special Interest Groups

An ADEA Special Interest Group (SIG) is a group of ADEA members with similar professional specialties who come together to exchange ideas and keep themselves informed about current and discrete developments in the field of dental education. The activities of an ADEA SIG are planned by its members and elected officers and provide a clear indication of the diverse interests and needs of its members. 

Through participation in an ADEA SIG, you can help design what, in essence, are small professional organizations within the association. Only ADEA members can belong to an ADEA SIG, though each member can belong to as many SIGs as desired. 

You can join SIGs by  logging in to your ADEA membership profile. Once you have joined an SIG, you are automatically opted in to the respective Listserv for the group. You will remain on the Listserv until you have opted out or until your ADEA membership expires. Learn more about using ADEA’s Listserv lists.  

 

Join a SIG

 

The goals and objectives of this Special Interest Group are to provide a forum for faculty to communicate about the various aspects of integrating CAD/CAM into dental curriculum for the betterment of their universities.

Listserv: cadcamtech@Listserv.adea.org

Chair
Stefanie Seitz, D.D.S.
University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio School of Dentistry
seitz@uthscsa.edu


Chair-elect

Geraldine Weinstein, D.D.S.
University of Connecticut School of Dental Medicine
gweinstein@uchc.edu

The ADEA Special Interest Group on Career Development for the New Educator addresses the teaching, service, research and professional development needs of recently appointed dental and allied dental faculty.

Listserv: cdne@Listserv.adea.org

Chair
Reem Al-Abbousi, D.D.S.
University of Detroit Mercy School of Dentistry
alabborh@udmercy.edu


Chair-elect

Jennifer Perkins, D.D.S., M.D.
University of California, San Francisco School of Dentistry
jennifer.perkins@ucsf.edu


Secretary

Jennifer Atkinson, M.A. Ed., D.M.D.
Midwestern University College of Dental Medicine
jatkin@midwestern.edu

The ADEA Special Interest Group on Dental Hygiene Clinical Coordinators addresses issues affecting the clinical aspect of dental hygiene.

Listserv: dhcc@Listserv.adea.org

Chair
Elizabeth Moninn, RDH, MS.Ed
University of Cincinatti Blue Ash College
monnineh@ucmail.uc.edu


Chair-elect

M. Diane Melrose, RDH, B.S., M.A.
Herman Ostrow School of Dentistry of University of Southern California
mmelrose@usc.edu

The mission of the SIG on Evidence Based Dentistry is to promote Evidence-Based Dentistry in dental school curriculums; define competencies for EBD; facilitate faculty education on EBD skills; improve our teaching efforts to promote oral health of individuals, populations and communities; and to increase the ethical and quality evidence-based care.

Listserv: EBD@listserv.adea.org

Chair
Jaana Gold, D.D.S., M.P.H., Ph.D., CPH
jgold@dental.ufl.edu


Chair-Elect
Teresa Marshall, Ph.D., RD/LD
teresa-marshall@uiowa.edu


Secretary:
Becky M. Smith, D.D.S.
smithbeck@umkc.edu

The ADEA Special Interest Group on Graduate Dental Hygiene Education Programs explores and examines opportunities, challenges and best practices in admissions, recruitment, curricula and scholarship related to graduate dental hygiene education.

Listserv: gdhedsig@Listserv.adea.org

Chair
Lori Rainchuso, R.D.H., M.S., D.H.Sc.
Massachusetts College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences University
lori.rainchuso@mcphs.edu


Chair-elect

Danielle Furgeson, DHSc, M.S., RDH
University of Michigan School of Dentistry
furgeson@umich.edu 


Secretary

Joyce Y. Sumi, RDH, MS
Herman Ostrow School of Dentistry of University of Southern California
jsumi@usc.edu

The ADEA Special Interest Group on Implant Dentistry addresses the interests of faculty in the advancement of implant dentistry in the curriculum.

Listserv: ImDent@Listserv.adea.org

Chair
John Mitchell, Ph.D.
Midwestern University College of Dental Medicine-Arizona
jmitch@midwestern.edu


Chair-elect

Sabah Kalamchi, D.D.S., F.F.D.S.R.S.
Arizona School of Dentistry & Oral Health
skalamchi@atsu.edu


Secretary

Bilal Shafi, D.D.S.
Midwestern University College of Dental Medicine
bshafi01@gmail.com

The ADEA Special Interest Group on Internationally Educated Oral Health Professionals provides a forum for administrators, staff and faculty involved in the formation, teaching or administration of international dental programs to meet and communicate information and concerns of mutual interest.

Listserv: IEOHP@listserv.adea.org

Chair
Elizabeth Towne, D.D.S.
University of Colorado School of Dental Medicine
beth.towne@ucdenver.edu


Chair-elect

Luis Yepes, D.D.S.
University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio School of Dentistry
yepes@uthscsa.edu


Secretary

Irene Tamy-Maury, D.M.D., MSc, DrPH
The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center
itami@mdanderson.org

ADEA Special Interest Group on Interprofessional Education and Collaborative Care explores and shares resources focused on interprofessional education and laboratory coursework and promotes activities and curricula for dental professionals to collaborate and communicate with other health care professionals to enhance patient safety.

Listserv: ipecc@listserv.adea.org

Chair
Erin Richards, D.D.S.
Loma Linda University School of Dentistry
erichards@llu.edu


Chair-elect

Domenica Sweier, D.D.S., Ph.D.
University of Michigan School of Dentistry
domsw@umich.edu


Secretary

Melanie E. Mayberry, D.D.S, M.S.
University of Detroit Mercy School of Dentistry
mayberme@udmercy.edu

The ADEA Special Interest Group on Lasers in Dentistry is a forum to explore the safe and effective use of lasers in all areas of dentistry and to help integrate and evaluate the knowledge and skills required to use all laser light technologies and techniques within the dental curriculum and practice.

Listserv: sig-lid@Listserv.adea.org

Chair
William "Bill" Leavitt, D.D.S., M.P.A.
University of Nevada, Las Vegas, School of Dental Medicine
william.leavitt@sdm.unlv.edu


Chair-elect

Juliana Barros, D.D.S., M.S.
The University of Texas School of Dentistry at Houston
juliana.barros@uth.tmc.edu


Secretary

Scott Benjamin, D.D.S.
Roseman University of Health Sciences College of Dental Medicine – South Jordan, Utah
info@benjamindental.com

The ADEA Special Interest Group on Professional, Ethical, and Legal Issues provides a forum for ADEA members to address issues in ethics, professionalism and legal matters in dental education.

Listserv: lgis@Listserv.adea.org

Chair
Lisa Itaya, D.D.S.
University of the Pacific, Arthur A. Dugoni School of Dentistry
litaya@pacific.edu


Chair-elect

Lillian Obucina, D.D.S., J.D.
Midwestern University College of Dental Medcine - Illinois
lobuci@midwestern.edu


Secretary

Carlos S. Smith, D.D.S., J.D.
Virginia Commonwealth University School of Dentistry
cssmith2@vcu.edu

The ADEA Special Interest Group on Scholarship of Teaching and Learning is a rich discussion forum that provides members the opportunity to learn and build upon the experiences and knowledge of their teaching peers within an infrastructure to support the Scholarship of Teaching and Learning throughout dental education.

Listserv: sotlsig@Listserv.adea.org

Chair
Denise A. Mills, D.D.S., MHA/Ed.
Midwestern University College of Dental Medicine-Arizona
dmills@midwestern.edu


Chair-elect

Pauletta Gay Baughman, D.M.D.
University of Louisville School of Dentistry
pauletta.baughman@louisville.edu


Secretary

Nancy B. Young, D.M.D.
Dental College of Georgia at Augusta University
nayoung@augusta.edu

The ADEA Special Interest Group on Teaching and Learning with Emerging Technology focuses on the exploration of and use of new and emerging technologies, and their use in dental education teaching and learning.

Listserv: EmergingTech@Listserv.adea.org

Chair
Ethelyn Thomason, D.M.D.
University of Colorado School of Dental Medicine
ethelyn.thomasonlarsen@ucdenver.edu


Chair-elect

Sang Park, D.D.S., M.M.Sc.
Harvard School of Dental Medicine
sang_park@hsdm.harvard.edu


Secretary

Parvatie Iyer, B.D.S., D.D.S.
University of the Pacific, Arthur A. Dugoni School of Dentistry
piyer@pacific.edu