ADEA/AAL Faculty of Color Tuition Scholarships for Professional Development

ADEA/AAL Compass Program for Academic Advancement (ADEA/AAL Compass Program)

Apply now! Application available below


The American Dental Education Association (ADEA) and AAL, with support from the ADEAGies Foundation, announce the ADEA/AAL Faculty of Color Tuition Scholarships for Professional Development: ADEA/AAL Compass Program for Academic Advancement (ADEA/AAL Compass Program). These scholarships support professional development activities for faculty of color in dental and allied dental education who are in the early to middle stages of their careers.

The ADEA/AAL Faculty of Color Tuition Scholarships for Professional Development were created to enable faculty of color to participate in programs that will improve their teaching abilities, increase leadership skills and advance understanding and mastery of other critical elements of a successful academic career.  


Eight $395 tuition scholarships will be awarded in 2018 to support the participation of dental and allied dental educators in the ADEA/AAL Compass Program. This online program provides early- and mid-career faculty with guidance and understanding about the academic skills they need to develop outside the classroom and clinic to succeed in higher education. Three primary topics—conducting educational research, writing grant applications and publishing articles and reports—compose the three-session curriculum. Each online presentation will be held live at 8:00 p.m. Eastern Time and will be recorded and available for review later. To give participants the opportunity to apply the lessons to a current or planned project, assignments will follow each presentation and will be due a week later. The program is designed to help faculty build their academic portfolios and gain abilities in areas not usually covered by other professional development courses. As this program is conducted entirely online, no lodging or transportation expenses will be involved.

All are welcome to apply. Those from the following historically underrepresented groups are strongly encouraged to apply:

  • Black or African-American
  • Hispanic/Latino/a
  • American Indian

Eligibility Requirements

An applicant must:

  • Agree to the terms of scholarship, which include:
  • Be nominated by the dean of his or her dental school or program director of his or her allied dental education program. No more than two nominations per school per program tuition scholarship are permitted.
  • Be a full- or part-time educator or administrator at an ADEA Member Institution.
  • Be an ADEA Individual Member.

Application Process Checklist

The following items must be submitted by November 1, 2017, using the ADEA online application process:

  • A completed ADEA/AAL Faculty of Color Tuition Scholarships for Professional Development application form, including a personal statement describing the applicant’s strengths and weaknesses as a faculty member and a summary describing any previous professional development he or she has experienced.
  • A current curriculum vitae.
  • One letter of recommendation from a colleague stating why the applicant should be considered for the tuition scholarship.
  • One letter of nomination from the dean of the applicant’s dental school or the program director of his or her allied dental education program, stating how the applicant’s participation will benefit the applicant and institution.

Receipt of entries cannot be acknowledged. Incomplete applications or late submissions will not be considered. 

Notification Date

Scholarship recipients and applicants not receiving awards will be notified by February 1, 2018.  

Contact Mr. Eric Lund, ADEA Professional Development Manager, at 202-289-7201 or

Past Recipients

Dr. Olga Luaces, University of Florida College of Dentistry
Dr. Susana Salazar Marocho, University of Mississippi Medical Center School of Dentistry


Dr. Fernando Haddock, Dental College of Georgia at Augusta University 
Dr. Tannaz Malekzadeh, Arizona School of Dentistry & Oral Health 
Dr. Gary Henley, Southern Illinois University School of Dental Medicine


Dr. Beverley Crawford, University of Pennsylvania School of Dental Medicine
Prof. Tanya Mitchell, University of Missouri - Kansas City School of Dentistry
Dr. Edward Bradford, University of Alabama at Birmingham School of Dentistry

Prof. Janeime Asbury, Fortis College
Dr. Tanya Gibson, University of Missouri - Kansas City School of Dentistry
Prof. Petal Leuwaisee, Hostos Community College
Dr. Mary Norma Partida, University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio School of Dentistry

Dr. Jay Anderson, Oregon Health & Science University School of Dentistry
Dr. Cassandra Holder-Ballard, University of Tennessee Health Science Center College of Dentistry
Prof. Diana Macri, New York University College of Dentistry
Dr. Alexandre Vieira, University of Pittsburgh School of Dental Medicine