ADEA/AAL Faculty of Color Tuition Scholarships for Professional Development

ADEA/AAL Chairs and Academic Administrators Management Program

July 30 - August 1, 2015

The American Dental Education Association (ADEA) and AAL, with support from the ADEAGies Foundation, announce the ADEA/AAL Faculty of Color Tuition Scholarships for Professional Development: ADEA/AAL Chairs and Academic Administrators Management Program (CAAMP). This scholarship supports professional development activities for faculty of color in dental and allied dental education in the early to middle stages of their careers.

The ADEA/AAL Faculty of Color Tuition Scholarship for Professional Development: ADEA/AAL CAAMP was created to enable faculty of color to participate in programs that will improve their teaching abilities, increase their leadership skills and advance their understanding and mastery of other critical elements of a successful academic career. 

In the ADEA/AAL CAAMP, participants engage in individual, small-group and class-wide exercises and discussions related to:

  • Exploring strategic planning and execution;
  • Learning about academic legal issues;
  • Understanding feedback and performance evaluations;
  • Enhancing communication skills and interpersonal interactions;
  • Conducting effective meetings;
  • Budgeting and fiscal planning;
  • Managing conflict;
  • Supporting faculty development;
  • Learning about leadership models.
Four $1,995 tuition scholarships will be awarded in 2015. Scholarship recipients, or their institutions, will be responsible for lodging and transportation expenses associated with participating in the program held in Atlanta, GA.

All are welcome to apply. Those from the following historically underrepresented groups are strongly encouraged to apply:
  • African American,
  • Hispanic/Latino(a),
  • American Indian.
Eligibility Requirements
An applicant must:
  • Agree to the terms of scholarship, which includes:
    • Participating in the program’s entirety.
    • Completing a post-program report within 90 days of program completion describing the impact of the scholarship on his or her professional development. The report will be submitted to the ADEAGies Foundation. Additionally, the applicant may be asked to participate in a video testimonial of the scholarship’s impact on his or her professional development. Portions of the report and video may be used for ADEA and AAL promotional purposes. 
  • Be nominated by the dean of his or her dental school or program director of his or her allied dental education program. No more than two nominations per school per program tuition scholarship are permitted
  • Be a full- or part-time educator or administrator at an ADEA Member Institution.
  • Be an ADEA Individual Member.
Application Deadline
All applications must be received on or before Tuesday, November 18, 2014.

Application Process Checklist
The following items must be submitted on or before Tuesday, November 18, 2014, using the ADEA online application process:
  • A completed ADEA/AAL Faculty of Color Tuition Scholarships for Professional Development application form, including a personal statement describing the applicant’s strengths and weaknesses as a faculty member and a summary describing any previous professional development he or she has experienced;
  • A current curriculum vitae;
  • One letter of recommendation from a colleague stating why the applicant should be considered for the tuition scholarship;
  • One letter of nomination from the dean of the applicant’s dental school or the program director of his or her allied dental education program, stating how the applicant’s participation will benefit the applicant and institution.
Receipt of entries cannot be acknowledged. Incomplete applications or late submissions will not be considered.
Contact Mr. Eric Lund, ADEA Professional Development Manager, at 202-289-7201 or with questions.

Notification Date and Award Announcement
Scholarship recipients and applicants not receiving awards will be notified on or before February 1, 2015. The award will be announced during the 2015 ADEA Annual Session & Exhibition in Boston, March 7–10, 2015.

Past Recipients

Dr. Eros Chaves, University of Oklahoma College of Dentistry
Dr. Maria Orellana, University of California, San Francisco, School of Dentistry
Dr. Luciana Shaddox, University of Florida College of Dentistry