ADEA State Update

National Governors Association Forms a Health Policy Advisory Board

(State Policy) Permanent link   All Posts

On July 11, the National Governors Association (NGA) announced that it had formed a State Health Policy Advisory Board (board), in an ongoing effort to provide governors and state policymakers with assistance and technical support on health care issues. According to the NGA, “[i]n times of complex navigation of health care implementation, the advisory board was created to bring both a broader and deeper perspective to the existing health care assistance NGA provides to governors.”

Members of the board will serve two-year terms and include the following:

  • Joe Anderson, former CEO, Schaller-Anderson
  • John Breaux, former U.S. senator from Louisiana
  • Jim Douglas, former governor of Vermont
  • Patricia Gabow, former CEO, Denver Health
  • George Halvorson, chairman, Kaiser Permanente
  • Carmen Odom, president, Milbank Memorial Fund
  • Peggy O’Kane, president, National Committee for Quality Assurance
  • Mark Smith, M.D., CEO, California Healthcare Foundation
  •  Olympia Snowe, former U.S. senator from Maine
  • Stephen Somers, president, Center for Health Care Strategies
Duggan Dental