Bulletin of Dental Education

American Student Dental Association 2014–15 Elects Executive Committee and Speaker of the House of Delegates

(Around the Dental Education Community, Students) Permanent link   All Posts

ASDAEC_SpeakerDuring its Annual Session in Anaheim, CA, on March 1, 2014, the American Student Dental Association (ASDA) House of Delegates elected its 2014–15 National President, Vice Presidents and Speaker of the House of Delegates.

Kristopher Mendoza, University of California, Los Angeles, School of Dentistry (UCLA SOD) Class of 2015, was elected President of ASDA. Mr. Mendoza served as ASDA’s 2013-–14 District 11 trustee and member of the Council on Advocacy. He was an ASDA delegate to the 2013 ADA House of Delegates and also serves on the ADA’s Joint Commission on National Dental Examinations. He is also a lecturer and clinical instructor for predental students through UCLA SOD’s Basic Dental Principles course. 

Also elected were ASDA’s Vice Presidents Daryn Lu, University of Oklahoma College of Dentistry and Jason Watts, Nova Southeastern University College of Dental Medicine. 

Mr. Lu joined ASDA as a predental member in 2009 and has since served in national ASDA roles as 2013-–14 District 9 trustee and member of the Council on Membership. His involvement in organized dentistry includes President of the Oklahoma ASDA chapter; student consultant to the Oklahoma Dental Association and ADA Council on Membership; and ASDA delegate to the 2013 ADA House of Delegates. 

Mr. Watts served as ASDA’s 2013-–14 District 5 Trustee and member of the Leadership Development Work Group. He is one of two 2014 ASDA delegates to the Academy of General Dentistry (AGD) House of Delegates and serves as a member of the Region 20 delegation for the 2014 AGD Annual Session.

“We look forward to continuing our collaborative efforts to ensure a better future for our patients, our colleagues and our profession,” says Mr. Mendoza. 

Elected as speaker of the House of Delegates is Niveditha Rajagopalan, Midwestern University College of Dental Medicine-Illinois. Locally, she served her ASDA chapter as Programming Chair and Gold Crown Award Chair. She also served as the class of 2016 representative on the Midwestern University Student Senate. Rajagopalan was a member of her undergraduate university’s competitive speech and debate team, winning three consecutive state championships. 

Duggan ad 2013