Bulletin of Dental Education

March 2010 Kudos

(Faculty, General, Kudos, Leadership, Students) Permanent link   All Posts

Baylor College of Dentistry Honors Two with Presidential Awards for Excellence

As a part of the Texas A&M Health Science Center (HSC), Baylor College of Dentistry recently honored Dr. Rena N. D'Souza and Dr. Ernestine S. Lacy with Presidential Awards for Excellence.

Rena N. D'SouzaDr. D'Souza received the Presidential Award for Excellence in Research, which honors significant contributions that enhance, facilitate, or accelerate HSC's research enterprise. Dr. D'Souza is Professor and Chair of Biomedical Sciences at Baylor and has made significant contributions to the fields of tooth development and genetics, received millions in research funding from the National Institutes of Health (NIH), and accepted the highest accolades for scientific achievement and mentorship from her peers. Baylor School of Dentistry Dean James S. Cole said that since Dr. D'Souza joined Baylor in 2006, "she has made great strides toward the integration of clinical, educational, and scientific collaborations throughout the college. She works tirelessly to better her personal research projects, as well as those of the department, the college, and the college's research partners."

Ernestine S. LacyDr. Lacy received the Presidential Award for Excellence in Education and Mentorship, which honors exceptional contributions and achievements as an educator or mentor and reflects the breadth of educational and mentoring activities across the HSC. Dr. Lacy is the Director of Student Development and Associate Professor of Restorative Sciences and has created a pipeline of future dentists from underserved communities that has positively impacted the diversity of Baylor's enrollment. The programs she has created through the Office of Student Development target students from kindergarten through postdoctoral education with a primary objective of assisting qualified students in gaining admission into and successfully graduating from dental school. "Dr. Lacy has worked tirelessly not only to develop and fund pipeline mentoring programs to encourage minority enrollment and academic success at Baylor, but she has taught and personally mentored many of the participating students," says Dr. Cole. "While the statistics are certainly a critical indicator of the effectiveness of these programs, they do not tell the more important story, which is that hundreds of bright minority students will now be rewarded for their hard work and diligence with a lifelong career in dentistry. Dr. Lacy's programs are indeed far reaching."

Inesi Prize in Physiology Awarded to Mr. Alan Shaw

shaw.inesiawardThe University of the Pacific Arthur A. Dugoni School of Dentistry recently awarded Mr. Alan Shaw with the Inesi Prize in Physiology. The Inesi award is generally given to some of the top students in the course each year; Mr. Shaw's performance was considered so exemplary that he merited being the sole recipient this year. Since its inception in 2002, the Inesi award has gone to only 27 students.

"Mr. Shaw consistently performed at the top of his class," said Dr. Joel Cohen, Professor and Course Director of Physiology. "He set a very high standard, which benefited his classmates as well as the entire course. As the academic and intellectual leader of the physiology course, Alan is exactly the kind of student whom Dr. and Mrs. Inesi intended to honor by instituting and funding this award."

Dr. Ronald D. Woody Receives ACP Distinguished Service Award

woody.awardThe American College of Prosthodontists (ACP) awarded Dr. Ronald D. Woody the Distinguished Service Award during the group's annual session in late 2009. Dr. Woody is a Professor and Director of Implant Dentistry in the Department of Restorative Sciences at Baylor College of Dentistry. The award was given in honor of Dr. Woody's significant contributions to the welfare and advancement of the ACP, displaying the characteristics of a true humanitarian, and for outstanding contributions to dentistry and advances to the sciences and health professions.

"Some of the most important accomplishments during my career are due to the positions in which I have been privileged to serve and to the many talented individuals with whom I have worked. They have allowed me the opportunity to influence, develop and help direct the progress of our specialty," said Dr. Woody upon receiving the award. "Being involved in education most of my professional life has been a most rewarding experience in being able to make a difference in many people's lives. I am very blessed to have had these opportunities to serve our profession."

Dr. S. Susan Baloul To Receive Milo Hellman Research Award

Dr. S. Susan Baloul, Associate Professor of Periodontology and Oral Biology at Boston University, will be the 2010 recipient of the American Association of Orthodontists Milo Hellman Research Award. Her three-year study, "Mechanism of Action and Morphological Changes in the Alveolar Bone in Response to Selective Alveolar Decortication Facilitated Tooth Movement," was completed while she completed a D.Sc. in Orthodontics and Dentofacial Orthopedics degree at Boston University.

In the announcement of the award, Dr. Baloul said, "Choosing to leave a prominent private practice was terrifying. However, it has proven to be one of my best decisions. My experience has been humbling, yet rewarding. This confirms to me that I made the right decision and that pursuing a doctorate degree for a future career in academia is the correct path for me."

Duggan ad 2013