Bulletin of Dental Education

Announcing the ADEA Leadership Institute Class of 2013

(Career, Grants, Fellowships, and Scholarships, Leadership) Permanent link   All Posts

The ADEA Leadership Institute is excited to announce their Fellows for 2012-13. Since 1999, more than 200 fellows from predoctoral, allied, and advanced dental education have participated in the ADEA Leadership Institute. Institute fellows hold positions ranging from department chairs to program directors to deans of dental schools. Throughout the year-long program, participants explore leadership styles, emotional intelligence, organizational theory, team building, stress management, work-life balance, strategies for leading change, and giving and receiving feedback. They also engage in self- and peer-assessment throughout the year as well as gain perspectives about oral health policy and legislation, organization and financing of higher education, budgeting, and other skills associated with effective leadership.

This year’s Fellows are:

Kenneth L. Allen, New York University School of Dentistry

Mohanad Al-Sabbagh, University of Kentucky College of Dentistry

Peter Arsenault, Tufts University School of Dental Medicine

Jeffrey D. Bennett, Indiana University School of Dentistry

Scott S. Derossi, Georgia Health Sciences University

Sandra M. Farah-Franco, Western University of Health Sciences

Micaela B. Gibbs, University of Florida College of Dentistry

Anne E. Gwozdek, University of Michigan School of Dentistry

Marc Levitan, Medical University of South Carolina

Margaret K. Mason, Lutheran Medical Center

Terri J. Matthews, Howard University College of Dentistry

Melanie Mayberry, University of Detroit Mercy School of Dentistry

Romesh Nalliah, Harvard School of Dental Medicine

Sharon G. Peterson, College of Southern Nevada

Ryan Quock, The University of Texas School of Dentistry at Houston

Berna Saglik, University of Michigan School of Dentistry

Charles Sfeir, University of Pittsburgh School of Dentistry

William C. Shellhart, The University of Colorado School of Dental Medicine

Catherine M. Solow, University of Iowa School of Dentistry

Bjorn Steffensen, University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio

Mary Truhlar, Stony Brook University School of Dental Medicine

Jillian A. Wallen, University of Nebraska Medical Center

Donna P. Warren-Morris, The University of Texas School of Dentistry at Houston

R. Todd Watkins Jr., East Carolina University School of Dental Medicine

Duggan ad 2013