Bulletin of Dental Education

February 2006 Kudos

(Kudos, Leadership) Permanent link   All Posts

GEORGIA—Emory University

Dr. Lisa Tedesco, former vice president and secretary of the University of Michigan, has been named dean of the Graduate School of Arts and Sciences at Emory University. Dr.Tedesco, who is currently a visiting fellow at Columbia University's Center for Community Health Partnerships, will begin her tenure May 1, 2006. An accomplished scholar and administrator, Dr. Tedesco has been a member of the faculty at the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, since 1992, when she became associate dean of its dental school. She was named university secretary in 1998, and served as interim provost in 2001. During her dental school tenure, the school implemented a doctoral program and instituted significant changes in curriculum, pedagogy and interdisciplinary research. Tedesco is the author of 69 peer reviewed articles, one book, two monographs and 12 book chapters. A former president of the American Association of Dental Schools, she is widely known as a social science health educator concerned with health disparities, curriculum reform and diversity in the health care workforce. She serves on an Institute of Medicine committee addressing workforce diversity, and is a member of the Sullivan Alliance to Transform America's Health Professions. Dr. Tedesco was a faculty member at the State University of New York at Buffalo from 1981 to 1992. She holds a master's in education from SUNY-Buffalo and PhD in educational psychology from Buffalo. Tedesco has held grants from the National Institutes of Health, the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services, the National Institute of Dental Research and the W.K. Kellogg Foundation, among other agencies. Dr. Tedesco, whose academic title includes vice provost for academic affairs-graduate studies, will also be a professor with the university's Rollins School of Public Health, as well as an associated faculty member with Emory College's Division of Educational Studies.

INDIANA—Indiana University

Pamela FordProfessor Pamela T. Ford has been named Director of Dental Assisting at Indiana University School of Dentistry. Prof. Ford is a 1975 graduate of IU’s dental assisting program. She earned an associate’s degree in Dental Hygiene from Indiana State University, Evansville (now the University of Southern Indiana), a BS in Dental Hygiene Education, and a Master of Social Work from the University of Southern Indiana. Throughout her career, she has worked as a dental assistant or dental hygienist in private practices. She taught allied dental professional students as a faculty member at the University of Southern Indiana from 1989 to 2001. She has frequently presented continuing education courses, primarily on the topic of radiology for dental auxiliaries.

NEW YORK—New York University

Dr. Amr M. Moursi has been named Chair of the Department of Pediatric Dentistry at NYU College of Dentistry. Dr. Moursi, a pediatric dentist and oral biologist, has also been appointed an Associate Professor of Pediatric Dentistry. He received a DDS degree from the University of Michigan School of Dentistry and a PhD in oral biology from the University of California at San Francisco. Formerly an Associate Professor of Pediatric Dentistry at Ohio State University College of Dentistry and Director of the postdoctoral residency program in pediatric dentistry at Columbus Children’s Hospital, Dr. Moursi was also a member of the medical staff in pediatric dentistry at Columbus Children’s Hospital and a senior research fellow at the Eastman Dental Institute at the University of London.

Dr. Dianne Rekow has been named Chair of the Department of Basic Science and Craniofacial Biology. Dr. Rekow joined NYU College of Dentistry in 2002 as a Professor of Basic Science and Craniofacial Biology and of Orthodontics, and was subsequently appointed Director of Translational Research -- positions she continues to hold while serving in her new role as Chairman of the Department of Basic Science and Craniofacial Biology. In addition to a dental degree, Dr. Rekow holds an MS degree in mechanical engineering, a PhD in biomedical engineering, a certificate in orthodontics, and an MBA. In her new position, Dr. Rekow will seek innovative approaches to incorporating new material into the curriculum, and will step up efforts to close the gap between basic science and clinical researchers. She is committed to encouraging basic scientists and clinical researchers to share information as a means of increasing the prospects for translational research -- so called because it translates novel basic science findings into testable hypotheses that may ultimately be integrated into clinical practice.

Mark WolffDr. Mark S. Wolff has been named Chair of the newly formed Department of Cariology and Comprehensive Care. Dr. Wolff, who was also appointed a Professor of Cariology and Comprehensive Care, holds a DDS degree, a PhD in Oral Biology and Pathology, and a general practice residency certificate, all from Stony Brook University. He also completed an externship in periodontics at the Veterans Administration Medical Center in Northport, New York. The Department of Cariology and Comprehensive Care was formed by merging the Departments of Cariology and Operative Dentistry and of General Dentistry and Management Science. Prior to joining NYU, Dr. Wolff implemented major educational and patient care innovations during 24 years as a faculty member and administrator at Stony Brook, including a first-year operative dentistry curriculum, a senior general practice training program, and a joint PhD/postdoctoral certificate program combining clinical and didactic training in general dentistry and diagnostic science. Dr. Wolff’s appointments at Stony Brook included Professor of General Dentistry and of Oral Biology and Pathology; Director of Operative Dentistry; and Associate Dean for Information Technology and Special Projects.

OHIO—The Ohio State UniversityScott Herness

Dr. Scott Herness, professor of oral biology and neuroscience, received the Stazen Senior Research Award. This award recognizes significant long-term research accomplishments, and acknowledged Dr. Herness’ nationally noted research on taste.

Mary LloydMs. Mary Lloyd, histotechnician in OMF Pathology and a 20-year staff member, received the Mark Dawson Memorial Staff Award, which recognizes outstanding contributions by a full-time staff member that advance the mission of the college.

Bob SeghiDr. Bob Seghi, professor of restorative and prosthetic dentistry, was honored with the 2005 Postle Teaching Award, an award given by the college faculty to a faculty member who demonstrates excellence in educational program development and classroom presentation skills.

Ms. Jennifer Small has been named director of the Dental Faculty Practice that provides patients with hands-on dental care provided by faculty members. Ms. Small, who formerly served at The Ohio State University Medical Center, holds a bachelor's degree in medical technology from The Ohio State University and a master's degree in health and human services from Youngstown State University.

Duggan ad 2013