2014 – 2015 ADEA Council of Sections Officers

Academic Affairs

Councilor
Nader A. Nadershahi, M.B.A., D.D.S., Ed.D.
University of the Pacific Arthur A. Dugoni School of Dentistry
nnadershahi@pacific.edu

Chair
Abby J. Brodie, D.M.D., M.S.
Nova Southeastern University College of Dental Medicine
abrodie@nova.edu

Chair-elect
Andrew I. Spielman, D.M.D., M.S., Ph.D.
New York University College of Dentistry
ais1@nyu.edu

Secretary
Robert M. Trombley, D.D.S., J.D.
University of Detroit Mercy School of Dentistry
tromblrm@udmercy.edu

Anatomical Sciences

Councilor
H. Wayne Lambert, Ph.D.
West Virginia University School of Dentistry
wlambert@hsc.wvu.edu

Chair
Alison F. Doubleday, Ph.D.
University of Illinois at Chicago College of Dentistry
adouble@uic.edu

Chair-elect
Laura C. Barritt, Ph.D.
Creighton University School of Dentistry
lbarritt@creighton.edu

Secretary
Anita Joy, BDS, Ph.D.
Southern Illinois University School of Dental Medicine
ajoy@siue.edu

Behavioral Sciences

Councilor
Stuart Schrader, Ph.D., M.S.W.
Indiana University School of Dentistry
sschrade@iupui.edu

Chair
Marita Inglehart, Ph.D.
University of Michigan School of Dentistry
mri@umich.edu

Chair-elect
Valerie Fatta, LM.S.W.
University at Buffalo School of Dental Medicine
rafatta@buffalo.edu

Secretary
Sheela Raja, Ph.D.
University of Illinois at Chicago College of Dentistry
sraja1@uic.edu

Biochemistry, Nutrition, and Microbiology

Councilor
Carole A. Palmer, Ed.D., RD, LDN
Tufts University School of Dental Medicine
carole.palmer@tufts.edu

Chair
Linda D. Boyd, RDH, RD, Ed.D.
Massachusetts College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences
Forsyth School of Dental Hygiene
linda.boyd@mcphs.edu

Chair-elect
Lancelot S. McLean, Ph.D.
Loma Linda University School of Dentistry
lmclean@llu.edu

Secretary
Laura M. Romito, D.D.S., M.S.
Indiana University School of Dentistry
lromitoc@iupui.edu

Business and Financial Administration

Councilor
Scott K. Arneson, M.B.A.
The University of Iowa College of Dentistry & Dental Clinics
scott-arneson@uiowa.edu

Chair
Ms. Eileen J. McIlhagga
University at Buffalo School of Dental Medicine
eileenc@buffalo.edu

Chair-elect
David George, D.D.S., M.B.A., FAGD
University of Maryland School of Dentistry
dgeorge@umaryland.edu

Secretary
Jeff Primos, M.B.A.
University of Missouri - Kansas City School of Dentistry
primosj@umkc.edu

Cariology

Councilor
Margherita Fontana, D.D.S., Ph.D.
University of Michigan School of Dentistry
mfontan@umich.edu

Chair
Sandra Guzman-Armstrong, D.D.S., M.S.
The University of Iowa College of Dentistry & Dental Clinics
sandra-guzman-armstrong@uiowa.edu

Chair-elect
Andrew Schenkel, D.M.D., M.S.
New York University College of Dentistry
andrew.schenkel@nyu.edu

Secretary
Aaron M. Soeprono
New York University College of Dentistry
ams39@nyu.edu

Clinic Administration

Councilor
Denice Stewart, D.D.S., M.H.S.A.
Oregon Health & Science University School of Dentistry
stewarde@ohsu.edu

Chair
Linda Wells, D.M.D., M.B.A.
University of Missouri - Kansas City School of Dentistry
wellslm@umkc.edu

Chair-elect
Richard Callan, D.M.D.
Georgia Regents University College of Dental Medicine
rcallan@gru.edu

Secretary
David Lazarchik, D.M.D.
Western University of Health Sciences College of Dental Medicine
dlzarchik@western.edu

Clinical Simulation

Councilor
Josephine Lomangino-Cheung D.D.S.,M.S.
Clincial Assistant Professor
New York University College of Dentistry
Jl71@nyu.edu
 

Chair
Sandra Farah-Franco, D.D.S.
Western University of Health Sciences
sfarahfranco@westernu.edu

Chair-elect
Peter Mychajliw D.D.S.
New York University College of Dentistry
pam2019@nyu.edu

Secretary
Kenneth L. Allen, D.D.S., M.B.A.
New York University College of Dentistry
kenneth.allen@nyu.edu

Community and Preventive Dentistry

Councilor
Christine E. Miller, RDH, M.H.S., M.A.
University of the Pacific Arthur A. Dugoni School of Dentistry
cmiller@pacific.edu

Chair
Marsha Cunningham-Ford, RDH, M.S.
The University of Iowa College of Dentistry & Dental Clinics
marsha-cunningham@uiowa.edu

Chair-elect
Karen M. Yoder, Ph.D.
Indiana University School of Dentistry
kmyoder@iu.edu

Secretary
Diane Brunson, RDH, M.P.H.
The University of Colorado School of Dental Medicine
diane.brunson@ucdenver.edu

Comprehensive Care and General Dentistry

Councilor
Joseph W. Parkinson, D.D.S.
University of Kentucky College of Dentistry
joseph.parkinson@uky.edu

Chair
Cheryl Straub-Morarend, D.D.S.
The University of Iowa College of Dentistry & Dental Clinics
Cheryl-morarend@uiowa.edu

Chair-elect
Adriana Vargas Green, D.D.S.
University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio Dental School
greenv@uthscsa.edu

Secretary
Robert Taylor, D.M.D.
University of Kentucky College of Dentistry
robbie.taylor@uky.edu

Continuing Education

Councilor
Carol E. Trecek, MBA, CPP
Marquette University
carol.trecek@marquette.edu

Chair
Penni M. Ryan, BLS, CPP
The University of Iowa College of Dentistry & Dental Clinics
penni-ryan@uiowa.edu

Chair-elect
Melissa Welsh, CPP
Columbia University College of Dental Medicine
mmw7@columbia.edu

Secretary
Barry Hammond, D.M.D.
Georgia Regents University College of Dental Medicine
bhammond@gru.edu

Dental Anatomy and Occlusion

Councilor
Richard White, D.D.S.
University of the Pacific Arthur A. Dugoni School of Dentistry
rwhite@pacific.edu

Chair
Leonard V. Jackson, D.D.S.
Virginia Commonwealth University School of Dentistry
lvjackson@vcu.edu

Chair-elect
Natalia Restrepo-Kennedy, D.D.S., M.S.
The University of Iowa College of Dentistry & Dental Clinics
natalia-restrepokennedy@uiowa.edu

Secretary
Deise Oliveira
The University of Colorado School of Dental Medicine
deise.oliveira@ucdenver.edu

Dental Assisting Education

Councilor
Patricia A. Capps, CDA, RDH, M.S.
Indiana University School of Dentistry
paacapps@iupui.edu

Chair
Danica Luedtke, CDA, BAS
Salish Kootenai College
danica_clairmont@skc.edu

Chair-elect
Joyce Yamada, CDA, RDH, M.S.
University of Hawaii Maui College
yamadajo@hawaii.edu

Secretary
Cynthia Lambert, CDA, RDH, M.S.
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Dentistry
calamber@dentistry.unc.edu

Dental Hygiene Education

Councilor
Joyce C. Hudson, RDH, M.S.
Ivy Tech Community College
jhudson73@ivytech.edu

Chair
Lorinda L. Coan, LDH, M.S.
Indiana University School of Dentistry
llcoan@iupui.edu

Chair-elect
Lorene Belows
University of Manitoba Faculty of Dentistry
bellows@cc.umanitoba.ca

Secretary
Jennifer K. Bartek, LDH, M.S., CDA
University of Southern Indiana
jkbartek@usi.edu

Dental Informatics

Councilor
Muhammad Walji
The University of Texas Health School of Dentistry at Houston 
muhammad.f.walji@uth.tmc.edu

Chair
David B. Rankin, M.S.
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Dentistry
david_rankin@dentistry.unc.edu

Chair-elect
Heiko Spallek, D.M.D., Ph.D.
University of Pittsburgh School of Dental Medicine
hspallek@pitt.edu

Secretary
Ana Neumann, D.D.S., M.P.H., Ph.D.
The University of Texas Health School of Dentistry at Houston
ana.neumann@uth.tmc.edu

Dental School Admissions Officers

Councilor
Venita J. Sposetti, D.M.D.
University of Florida College of Dentistry
sposetti@dental.ufl.edu

Chair
Linda Reed, M.Ed.
Boston University Henry M. Goldman School of Dental Medicine
reed@bu.edu

Chair-elect
Annette M. McMurry, J.D.
The Ohio State University College of Dentistry
mcmurry.7@osu.edu

Secretary
Pamela Sandow, D.M.D.
University of Florida College of Dentistry
psandwo@dental.ufl.edu

Development, Alumni Affairs, and Public Relations

Councilor
William O. Butler, M.S.
University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio
butlerw@uthscsa.edu

Chair
Mr. Dan Soine
University of the Pacific Arthur A. Dugoni School of Dentistry
dsoine@pacific.edu  

Chair-elect
Kristen Ward
East Carolina University School of Dental Medicine
wardk@ecu.edu

Secretary
Lyndsey Crum, J.D.
The University of Colorado School of Dental Medicine
lyndsey.crum@ucdenver.edu

Educational Research, Development, and Curriculum

Councilor
Gail S. Childs, RDH, M.P.H.
University of Florida College of Dentistry
gchilds@dental.ufl.edu

Chair
Peter L. Harrison, D. Ch. Dent
University of Florida College of Dentistry
pharrison@dental.ufl.edu

Chair-elect
Judith Skelton, M.Ed., Ph.D.
University of Nevada, Las Vegas, School of Dental Medicine
judith.skelton@sdm.unlv.edu

Secretary
Roseanna Graham, D.D.S., M.A., Ph.D.
Columbia University College of Dental Medicine
rg2032@columbia.edu

Endodontics

Councilor
Bruce C. Justman, D.D.S.
The University of Iowa College of Dentistry & Dental Clinics
bruce-justman@uiowa.edu

Chair
Uma Devi P. Nair, D.M.D., M.D.S.
University of Florida College of Dentistry
unair@dental.ufl.edu

Chair-elect
Mary Pettiette, D.D.S.
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Dentistry
mary_pettiette@dentistry.unc.edu

Secretary
Rene Chu, D.M.D., M.S.
The University of Iowa College of Dentistry & Dental Clinics
rene-chu@uiowa.edu

Gay-Straight Alliance

Councilor
Frederick G. More
New York University College of Dentistry
fgm1@nuy.edu

Chair
Kenneth Hillenburg, D.D.S., M.S.
University of Detroit Mercy School of Dentistry
hillenkl@udmercy.edu

Chair-elect
Colleen D. Kuxhaus, M.A.
University of Detroit Mercy School of Dentistry
kuxhaucd@udmercy.edu

Secretary
Joan Lewis, D.D.S., M.S.D.
University of Detroit Mercy School of Dentistry
lewisjm5@udmercy.edu

Gerontology and Geriatrics Education

Councilor
Georgia Dounis, D.D.S., M.S.
University of Nevada, Las Vegas, School of Dental Medicine
georgia.dounis@unlv.edu

Chair
Laura Kaufman, D.M.D.
Boston University Henry M. Goldman School of Dental Medicine
laura.kaufman@bmc.org

Chair-elect
Becky Smith, D.D.S.
University of Missouri - Kansas City School of Dentistry
smithbeck@umkc.edu

Secretary
Leonardo Marchini, D.D.S., M.S.D., Ph.D.
The University of Iowa College of Dentistry & Dental Clinics
leonardo-marchini@uiowa.edu

Graduate and Postgraduate Education

Councilor
James Winkler, D.D.S., Ph.D.
University of Detroit Mercy School of Dentistry
winklerj@udmercy.edu

Chair
Darryl Hamamoto, Ph.D., D.D.S.
The Ohio State University College of Dentistry
hamamoto.4@osu.edu

Chair-elect
Shyam Prasad Aravindaksha
University of Detroit Mercy School of Dentistry
aravinsp@udmercy.edu

Secretary
MaryBeth Aichelmann-Reidy
University of Maryland School of Dentistry
mreidy@umaryland.edu

Minority Affairs

Councilor
Mildred A. McClain, Ph.D.
University of Nevada, Las Vegas, School of Dental Medicine
millie.mcclain@unlv.edu

Chair
Jennifer Barnes McCants, D.D.S., M.S.D.
University of Louisville School of Dentistry
jbmcca02@louisville.edu

Chair-elect
Eujenia Mejia
New York University College of Dentistry
eem1@nyu.edu

Secretary
Deirdre Young, D.D.S.
University of Detroit Mercy School of Dentistry
youngdd@udmercy.edu

Operative Dentistry and Biomaterials

Councilor
Derek R. Williams, D.D.S.
University of Missouri - Kansas City School of Dentistry
williamsdere@umkc.edu

Chair
Maria Marcela Hernandez, D.D.S., M.S.
The University of Iowa College of Dentistry & Dental Clinics
marcela-hernandez@uiowa.edu

Chair-elect
Eric D. Levine, D.D.S.
University of Maryland School of Dentistry
elevine@umaryland.edu

Secretary
Juliana Da Costa, D.D.S., M.S.
Oregon Health & Science University School of Dentistry
dacostaj@ohsu.edu

Oral Biology

Councilor
L. Jack Windsor, Ph.D.
Indiana University School of Dentistry
ljwindso@iu.edu

Chair
Steven London, D.M.D., Ph.D.
Stony Brook University School of Dental Medicine
steven.london@stonybrook.edu

Chair-elect
James Borke, Ph.D.
Western University of Health Sciences College of Dental Medicine
jborke@western.edu

Secretary
Asha Eapen, Ph.D.
Southern Illinois University School of Dental Medicine
aeapen@siue.edu


Oral Diagnosis and Oral Medicine

Councilor
Samuel P. Nesbit, D.D.S., M.S.
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Dentistry
sam_nesbit@dentistry.unc.edu

Chair
Shawn Adibi, D.D.S.
The University of Texas School of Dentistry at Houston
ckrushin@iu.edu

Chair-elect
Takako I. Tanaka, D.D.S.
University of Detroit Mercy School of Dentistry
tanakata@udmercy.edu

Secretary
Rajesh V. Lalla, D.D.S., Ph.D.
University of Connecticut School of Dental Medicine
lalla@uchc.edu

Oral and Maxillofacial Pathology

Councilor
J. Craig Whitt, D.M.D., M.S., M.B.A.
University of Missouri - Kansas City School of Dentistry
whittj@umkc.edu

Chair
Junu Ojha, B.D.S.
University of Detroit Mercy School of Dentistry
juojha@udmercy.edu

Chair-elect
Yeshwant B. Rawal
University of Tennessee Health Science Center College of Dentistry
yrawal@uthsc.edu

Secretary
Tanya M. Gibson, D.D.S.
University of Missouri - Kansas City School of Dentistry
gibsontm@umkc.edu

Oral and Maxillofacial Radiology

Councilor
Jahanzeb Chaudhry, D.D.S., B.D.S., M.D.Sc.
The Ohio State University College of Dentistry
chaudhry.31@osu.edu

Chair
Reji Mathew, B.D.A., M.D.Sc.
Midwestern University College of Dental Medicine-Illinois
rmathe@midwestern.edu

Chair-elect
Aditya Tadinada, B.D.S., M.D.Sc.
University of Connecticut School of Dental Medicine
tadinada@uchc.edu

Secretary
Angela Broome, D.D.S., M.S., Dip. ABOMR
East Carolina University School of Dental Medicine
broomean@ecu.edu

Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery/Anesthesia/Hospital Dentistry

Councilor
Pamela Hughes, D.D.S.
Oregon Health & Science University School of Dentistry
hughesp@ohsu.edu

Chair
Carrie Klene, D.D.S.
Indiana University School of Dentistry
cklene@iu.edu

Chair-elect
Ruba Khader, B.D.S.
University of Kentucky College of Dentistry
ruba.khader@uky.edu

Secretary
Anders Nattestad, D.D.S.
University of the Pacific Arthur A. Dugoni School of Dentistry
anattestad@pacific.edu

Orthodontics

Councilor
Mitchell J. Lipp, D.D.S.
New York University College of Dentistry
mjl3@nyu.edu

Chair
Kelton T. Stewart, D.D.S., M.S.
Indiana University School of Dentistry
keltstew@iu.edu

Chair-elect
V. Wallace McCarlie, D.M.D., Ph.D., M.A.
East Carolina University School of Dental Medicine
mccarlievw@ecu.edu

Secretary
Edmund Khoo
New York University College of Dentistry
ek1127@nyu.edu

Pediatric Dentistry

Councilor
Vacant

Chair
Salwa Atwan, D.D.S., M.S.
University of Detroit Mercy School of Dentistry
atwansm@udmercy.edu

Chair-elect
Lisa M. Mruz, D.D.S.
lmruzdds@gmail.com

Secretary
Janice Townsend, D.D.S., M.S.
Louisiana State University Health New Orleans School of Dentistry
jtown2@lsuhsc.edu

Periodontics

Councilor
Peter M. Loomer, D.D.S., Ph.D.
University of California, San Francisco, School of Dentistry
peter.loomer@ucsf.edu

Chair
Pinar Emecen Huja, D.D.S., Ph.D.
University of Kentucky College of Dentistry
pinar.emecenhuja@uky.edu

Chair-elect
Leena Palomo, D.D.S., M.S.D
Case Western Reserve University School of Dental Medicine
leena.palomo@case.edu

Secretary
Harlan Shiau, D.D.S., D.M.Sc.
University of Maryland School of Dentistry
hshiau@umaryland.edu

Physiology, Pharmacology, and Therapeutics

Councilor
Ted D. Pate, Ph.D., M.S.
The University of Texas School of Dentistry at Houston
ted.d.pate@uth.tmc.edu

Chair
Shyam P. Aravindaksha, B.D.S., M.D.S., PGDMLS
University of Detroit Mercy School of Dentistry
aravinsp@udmercy.edu

Chair-elect
Darren M. Roesch, Ph.D.
Texas A&M University Baylor College of Dentistry
roesch@bcd.tamhsc.edu

Secretary
Dharini van der Hoeven
The University of Texas School of Dentistry at Houston
dharini.vanderhoeve@uth.tmc.edu

Postdoctoral General Dentistry

Councilor
Sheryl Kane, D.D.S.
U.S. Air Force
sheryllkane@gmail.com

Chair
Ramon Gonzalez, D.D.S., M.P.H.
University of Puerto Rico School of Dental Medicine
ramon.gonzalez5@upr.edu

Chair-elect
Brian K. Singletary, D.M.D., M.S.
University of Minnesota School of Dentistry
singl069@umn.edu

Secretary
Barbara MacNeill, D.M.D., M.S.
University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio
macneill@uthscsa.edu

Practice Management

Councilor
David O. Willis, D.M.D., M.B.A.
University of Louisville School of Dentistry
david.willis@louisville.edu

Chair
Benjamin F. Dyer, D.D.S., MAGD
East Carolina University School of Dental Medicine
dyerb@ecu.edu

Chair-elect
John N. Williams, D.M.D., M.B.A.
Indiana University School of Dentistry
jnwill01@iu.edu

Secretary
ToanFoeng (Bill) Tham, D.D.S., J.D., FCLM
University of Nevada, Las Vegas, School of Dental Medicine
toanfoeng.tham@unlv.edu

Prosthodontics

Councilor
Igor Pesun, D.D.S., M.S., FACP
University of Manitoba Faculty of Dentistry
igor.pesun@umanitoba.ca

Chair
Mark A. Dellinges, D.D.S.
University of California, San Francisco, School of Dentistry
mark.dellinges@ucsf.edu

Chair-elect
Carlos H. Barrero
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Dentistry
carlos_barrero@dentistry.unc.edu

Secretary
Carlos Barreco, D.D.S., M.S.
University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Dentistry
carlos_barreco@dentistry.unc.edu

Student Affairs and Financial Aid

Councilor
Phil Pierpont, D.D.S.
The University of Texas School of Dentistry at Houston
hugh.p.pierpont@uth.tmc.edu

Chair
Herminio L. Perez, D.M.D., M.B.A.
Rutgers School of Dental Medicine
herminio.perez@mac.com

Chair-elect
Patricia Xirau-Probert, Ph.D.
University of Florida College of Dentistry
pprobert@dental.ufl.edu

Secretary
Laureen Zubiarre Bitzer, D.M.D., M.S.
Columbia University College of Dental Medicine
laz1@columbia.edu

Substance Abuse, Addiction, and Tobacco Dependence Education

Councilor
Joan Davis, Ph.D., RDH
Southern Illinois University School of Dental Medicine
davisdh@siu.edu

Chair
Sara Gordon, D.D.S., M.S.
University of Illinois at Chicago College of Dentistry
gordonsa@uic.edu

Chair-elect
Marjorie Arnett, M.S.
Loma Linda University School of Dentistry
marnett@llu.edu

Secretary
Victoria Patrounova, RDH, M.H.A.
The University of Texas School of Dentistry at Houston
victoria.v.patrounova@uth.tmc.edu